VS 2005 [RESOLVED] Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox-VBForums
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: [RESOLVED] Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    16

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    Hello World!

    Before I start I have spent some time looking at examples in both thread and the Code Bank. There are a lot of great examples and I have tried a number of them and modified them in an attempt to tweek it to what I want.

    So here is what I am Doing.....


    Bold, Change Font Type and Change Font Size of a specific text within a RichTextBox.

    Here is the RichTextBox Output -

    Code:
     rtb1.Text = Name & vbCrLf _
                            & "Type: " & CStr(Type) & CStr(Energy) & CStr(Effect) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Power Rank: " & CStr(PowerRank) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Range: " & CStr(Range) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Duration: " & CStr(Duration) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Area of Effect: " & CStr(AoE) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Activiation Time: " & CStr(APC) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Defense: " & CStr(Defense) & vbCrLf _
                            & Description
    What I am attempting to do is effect "Name" which is called from:

    Code:
    Name = tbSpellName.Text
    I have tried the following:
    Code:
    With Me.rtb1
           rtb1.SelectionStart = 0
           rtb1.SelectionLength = 25
           rtb1.SelectionFont = New Font("Visitation", 11, FontStyle.Bold)
           rtb1.SelectedText = tbSpellName.Text '+ ControlChars.Cr
    
            End With
    and this

    Code:
    Dim Spellname As String = Name
            With Me.rtb1
                .SelectedText = Spellname
                .SelectionFont = New Font("Visitation", 11, FontStyle.Bold)
            End With
    and this

    Code:
    Dim myfont As New Font("Visitation", 11, FontStyle.Bold)
            With Me.rtb1
            .SelectionStart = 0
            .SelectionLength = 50
            .SelectionFont = myfont
           End With

    All of which to no avail. I am stumped. Could anyone please help me out here?

    TIA

    Ldavis

  2. #2

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    16

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    Can no one help me out? I guess it might not be possible.

  3. #3
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Albacete, espaņa
    Posts
    781

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    looks like this thread may have what you're looking for. I know little about RichTextBox but the code here seems to change the font of a part of the text as you describe.

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    16

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    Well that thread s about changing the cont style of the RTB which I can do. But I want to only change One Word only and that word Only. So thanks for the link, but that is not what I need.

  5. #5
    vb Coda .paul.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chelmsford UK
    Posts
    18,743

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    You need to select the word you want to change, then set the selectionfont, which will just change the font for the word you selected

  6. #6
    vb Coda .paul.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chelmsford UK
    Posts
    18,743

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    SelectionStart is the index of the first character of the word you want to select.
    SelectionLength is the length of the word you want to select.

  7. #7
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Modesto, Ca.
    Posts
    1,960

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    Here's the way you can change the color and fontstyle,

    Code:
            Dim ndx As Integer, currentFont As System.Drawing.Font = Me.RichTextBox1.SelectionFont
            If Not redText1 Is Nothing Then
                ndx = Me.RichTextBox1.Find(redText1)
                If ndx >= 0 Then
                    Me.RichTextBox1.SelectionColor = Color.Red
                    Me.RichTextBox1.SelectionFont = New Font( _
                                                     currentFont.FontFamily, _
                                                     currentFont.Size, _
                                                     FontStyle.Bold)
                End If
            End If
    "redText1" is a string type parameter I send to this function.

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    16

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    Quote Originally Posted by .paul. View Post
    SelectionStart is the index of the first character of the word you want to select.
    SelectionLength is the length of the word you want to select.

    I have tried that as I had shown in one of my examples:

    That is not working.

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    16

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    Quote Originally Posted by wes4dbt View Post
    Here's the way you can change the color and fontstyle,

    Code:
            Dim ndx As Integer, currentFont As System.Drawing.Font = Me.RichTextBox1.SelectionFont
            If Not redText1 Is Nothing Then
                ndx = Me.RichTextBox1.Find(redText1)
                If ndx >= 0 Then
                    Me.RichTextBox1.SelectionColor = Color.Red
                    Me.RichTextBox1.SelectionFont = New Font( _
                                                     currentFont.FontFamily, _
                                                     currentFont.Size, _
                                                     FontStyle.Bold)
                End If
            End If
    "redText1" is a string type parameter I send to this function.
    I get that. I can even do SelectionFind if the text i wanted was a specific tet as you have listed but the Name, as listed in the code above, is a user entered piece of text that is gained from the Textbox : Name = tbSpellName.Text

  10. #10
    vb Coda .paul.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chelmsford UK
    Posts
    18,743

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    So change redText1 to tbSpellName.Text in wes4dbt's example code

  11. #11

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    16

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    .paul -

    I tried it, couldn't hurt could it.... here is the code with replacement items.... but it still didn't work....

    Code:
      Dim ndx As Integer, currentFont As System.Drawing.Font = Me.rtb1.SelectionFont
            If Not tbSpellName.Text Is Nothing Then
                ndx = Me.rtb1.Find(tbSpellName.Text)
                If ndx >= 0 Then
                    Me.rtb1.SelectionColor = Color.Red
                    Me.rtb1.SelectionFont = New Font( "Visitation", 11, FontStyle.Bold)
                End If
            End If

  12. #12
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Albacete, espaņa
    Posts
    781

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    I created a simple form with an RTB (RichTextBox1), a Textbox (Textbox1) and a button (Button1)
    I entered a string in the textbox to test then ran it. I typed a word in the textbox and clicked the button. It found the first instance of the word and changed it. I thought it may have been your font family name so I checked again with that and it worked fine as you can see from the final code below. That means the problem lies elsewhere. You should set a breakpoint and step through checking the values of all the variables to see if they are as you expect.
    vb.net Code:
    1. Public Class Form1
    2.  
    3.     Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
    4.         Colour(TextBox1.Text)
    5.     End Sub
    6.  
    7.     Private Sub Colour(ByVal ref)
    8.         Dim ndx As Integer, currentFont As System.Drawing.Font = Me.RichTextBox1.SelectionFont
    9.         If Not ref Is Nothing Then
    10.             ndx = Me.RichTextBox1.Find(ref)
    11.             If ndx >= 0 Then
    12.                 Me.RichTextBox1.SelectionColor = Color.Red
    13.                 Me.RichTextBox1.SelectionFont = New Font( _
    14.                                                  "visitation", _
    15.                                                  14, _
    16.                                                  FontStyle.Bold)
    17.             End If
    18.         End If
    19.     End Sub
    20. End Class

  13. #13

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    16

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    Well then...perhaps seein my whole code would be of much better help. Here it is in its less than glamorous form.....

    Code:
    Public Class Form1
        Public Type, Range, AoE, APC, Defense, Description, Duration, Energy, Effect, RangeSelect, Name1 As String
        Public Air As String
        Public PowerRank, Difference, RangeInt, AoEInt As Integer
        Private Sub Generate_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Generate.Click
            Type = " "
            Energy = " "
            Effect = " "
            Defense = " "
            RangeSelect = " "
            Range = " "
            Difference = 0
    
    
            Try
                PowerRank = CInt(tbPowerRank.Text)
            Catch ex As Exception
                If tbPowerRank.Text = "" Then
                    MessageBox.Show("You need to enter a Power Rank.  We have entered 1 as your Power Rank for this Spell or Power.", "Power Rank Required", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Stop)
                    tbPowerRank.Text = "1"
                End If
            End Try
    
            Try
                Name = tbSpellName.Text
            Catch ex As Exception
                If tbSpellName.Text = "" Then
                    MessageBox.Show("Please enter a name for the spell or power.", "Name Required", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Stop)
                    tbSpellName.Text = "No Name"
                End If
            End Try
    
            For i As Integer = 0 To lbType.SelectedItems.Count - 1
                Type = Type & lbType.SelectedItems(i).ToString & "; "
            Next
    
            For i As Integer = 0 To lbEnergy.SelectedItems.Count - 1
                Energy = Energy & "[" & lbEnergy.SelectedItems(i).ToString & "]"
            Next
    
            For i As Integer = 0 To lbEffect.SelectedItems.Count - 1
                Effect = Effect & "[" & lbEffect.SelectedItems(i).ToString & "]"
            Next
    
            For i As Integer = 0 To lbDefense.SelectedItems.Count - 1
                Defense = Defense & lbDefense.SelectedItems(i).ToString
            Next
    
            Name = tbSpellName.Text
            PowerRank = CInt(tbPowerRank.Text)
            Description = tbDescription.Text
            Duration = cbxDuration.SelectedItem
            Range = cbxRange.SelectedItem
            AoE = cbxAoE.SelectedItem
            APC = cbxActivation.SelectedItem
    
            'Check Area of Effect
            Select Case AoE
                Case "30'  +5'/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    Select Case PowerRank
                        Case Is <> "6", "7"
                            MessageBox.Show("The AoE of 30' +5'/success (Max Bonus +50'), should be used with Power Rank 6 or 7 spells/powers.", "Area of Effect Incorrect", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Stop)
                    End Select
    
                Case "40'  +5'/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    Select Case PowerRank
                        Case Is <> "8", "9"
                            MessageBox.Show("The AoE of 40' +5'/success (Max Bonus +50'), should be used with Power Rank 8 or 9 spells/powers.", "Area of Effect Incorrect", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Stop)
                    End Select
    
                Case "50'  +5'/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    Select Case PowerRank
                        Case Is <> "10", "11"
                            MessageBox.Show("The AoE of 50' +5'/success (Max Bonus +50'), should be used with Power Rank 10 or 11 spells/powers.", "Area of Effect Incorrect", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Stop)
                    End Select
    
                Case "60'  +5'/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    Select Case PowerRank
                        Case Is <> "12"
                            MessageBox.Show("The AoE of 60' +5'/success (Max Bonus +50'), should be used with Power Rank 12 spells/powers.", "Area of Effect Incorrect", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Stop)
                    End Select
            End Select
    
    
    
            'Cross Check that AoE is not bigger than Range; First Give Range and AoE Integer Numbers
    
            Select Case AoE
                Case "Self"
                    AoEInt = 0
                Case "Target"
                    AoEInt = 1
                Case "10'"
                    AoEInt = 10
                Case "15'"
                    AoEInt = 15
                Case "20'"
                    AoEInt = 20
                Case "20' +5'/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    AoEInt = 20
                Case "25'  +5'/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    AoEInt = 25
                Case "30'  +5'/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    AoEInt = 30
                Case "40'  +5'/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    AoEInt = 40
                Case "50'  +5'/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    AoEInt = 50
                Case "60'  +5'/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    AoEInt = 60
            End Select
    
    
            Select Case Range
                Case "Self"
                    RangeInt = 0
                Case "Target"
                    RangeInt = 1
                Case "10'"
                    RangeInt = 10
                Case "20'"
                    RangeInt = 20
                Case "30'"
                    RangeInt = 30
                Case "40' +5/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    RangeInt = 40
                Case "45' +5/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    RangeInt = 45
                Case "50' +5/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    RangeInt = 50
                Case "55' +5/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    RangeInt = 55
                Case "60' +5/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    RangeInt = 60
                Case "65' +5/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    RangeInt = 65
                Case "70' +5/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    RangeInt = 40
                Case "75' +5/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    RangeInt = 45
                Case "80' +5/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    RangeInt = 80
                Case "85' +5/success (Max Bonus +50')"
                    RangeInt = 85
            End Select
    
    
            If AoEInt > RangeInt Then
                MessageBox.Show("The AoE is greater then the Range of the Spell, please select a smaller AoE or a larger Range, but your selection will be used!", "Area of Effect is too big!", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Stop)
            End If
    
    
    
    
            '--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
            'With Me.rtb1
            '    'rtb1.SelectionStart = 0
            '    'rtb1.SelectionLength = 25
            '    rtb1.SelectionFont = New Font("Visitation", 11, FontStyle.Bold)
            '    rtb1.SelectedText = tbSpellName.Text '+ ControlChars.Cr
    
            'End With
            'Name1 = Name
    
            'Dim Spellname As String = Name
            'With Me.rtb1
            '    .SelectedText = Spellname
            '    .SelectionFont = New Font("Visitation", 11, FontStyle.Bold)
            'End With
            ''tbResult.Text = Name & vbCrLf _
            'Dim myfont As New Font("Visitation", 11, FontStyle.Bold)
            'With Me.rtb1
            '    .SelectionStart = 0
            '    .SelectionLength = 50
            '    .SelectionFont = myfont
            '    '.SelectionFont = New Font(me.rtb1.selectionfont,
            'End With
    
    
            'Dim ndx As Integer, currentFont As System.Drawing.Font = Me.rtb1.SelectionFont
            'If Not tbSpellName.Text Is Nothing Then
            '    ndx = Me.rtb1.Find(tbSpellName.Text)
            '    If ndx >= 0 Then
            '        Me.rtb1.SelectionColor = Color.Red
            '        Me.rtb1.SelectionFont = New Font( "Visitation", 11, FontStyle.Bold)
            '    End If
            'End If
    
    
    
            rtb1.Text = Name & vbCrLf _
                            & "Type: " & CStr(Type) & CStr(Energy) & CStr(Effect) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Power Rank: " & CStr(PowerRank) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Range: " & CStr(Range) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Duration: " & CStr(Duration) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Area of Effect: " & CStr(AoE) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Activiation Time: " & CStr(APC) & vbCrLf _
                            & "Defense: " & CStr(Defense) & vbCrLf _
                            & Description
        End Sub
    
        Private Sub clrfrmBtn_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles clrfrmBtn.Click
    
            tbSpellName.Text = " "
            tbPowerRank.Text = " "
            tbDescription.Text = " "
            cbxDuration.SelectedIndex = -1
            cbxRange.SelectedIndex = -1
            cbxAoE.SelectedIndex = -1
            cbxActivation.SelectedIndex = -1
            Description = " "
            rtb1.Text = " "
            lbType.SelectedIndex = -1
            lbEnergy.SelectedIndex = -1
            lbEffect.SelectedIndex = -1
            lbDefense.SelectedIndex = -1
            tbSpellName.Focus()
    
        End Sub
    End Class

    Not Sure if that helps.....BTW trying your new code.....

  14. #14

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    16

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    I do have a question though....

    How is it that :

    Colour(TextBox1.Text) works for you? Your expression is not a Method is it?

    I replaced it with: Name(tbSpellName.Text)

  15. #15
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Modesto, Ca.
    Posts
    1,960

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    Wow, that is a mess. Let me begin by asking a simple question. How can you change the text color or font of something in the rtb before you put the text in the rtb.

  16. #16
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Albacete, espaņa
    Posts
    781

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    Colour is a user-defined sub. I included it in the code I posted. I simply pass the value of the textbox text to my sub and the sub dies the highlighting.

    I notice from your code however, that you have been trying to set the highlighting BEFORE you set the text of the RTB. Is that really how your code was or have you moved things around to post it?

  17. #17

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    16

    Re: Bolding and Changing Font Type and Size in Richtextbox

    Quote Originally Posted by wes4dbt View Post
    Wow, that is a mess. Let me begin by asking a simple question. How can you change the text color or font of something in the rtb before you put the text in the rtb.
    I was under the impression that it was not yet in the rtb1 meaning that it was in the lbSpellName.text or held in Name. Are you meaning to say that I should attempt the change after putting it in the RTB1? hmmmm..I was not aware of that!!!! I moved it around and WHAM it worked... Thanks for the tip!!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.