Thread: Version Control

Version Control

I've been developing for this client for over two years now. And the success we've enjoyed with the apps are evident that they hired more devs and allowed me to train some others here in the company who want to become developers. The need for version control became obvious so one of the more experienced web dev guys brought in Tortoise SVN. It seems to work pretty good and as I understand it's Open Source so the cost is right.

My practice is each morning when I come in, I Update to get any of the changes others may have made and each evening when I leave I Commit all my changes. But I've been noticing that one or more of the issues or conflicts are with the *.suo files. I was curious as to how other development teams handle this.

Re: Version Control

There are several file types that shouldn't be stored in version control, and I'm pretty sure .suo is one of them - because it is a user options file.

Most source control systems allow you to specify which file types to include and/or ignore.

Sinecure devotee

I try to ensure I don't import the .suo file.
    You can always do an svn delete *.suo to remove it from the repository. (I don't usually use the GUI, started with svn on Linux from the terminal and have continued from the command line in windows). I assume you have Tortoise integrated with Windows Explorer, so you should be able to tag it for removal from the repository from the GUI.
    Last edited by passel; May 22nd, 2014 at 04:29 PM.