Thread: Powerpoint Macro - Cannot figure out how to Paste in Place (can only paste in middle)

Powerpoint Macro - Cannot figure out how to Paste in Place (can only paste in middle)

Hi There,

I have written a code for work in VBA (I am a beginner) and would like to take content from each slide and paste the slide content as a PNG. Essentially the intent is to "Lock" the deck so that anyone who has access cannot modify the information.

Anyway, the code works great in that it will select all> cut all information>delete anything left on the slide>paste as PNG. However, I have not been able to figure out how to paste in the original position that everything was in. By default I set a paste in the middle. When I have a deck that is 170 slides, it can be annoying to have to review the position of each and every slide.

My guess is that I may need to set a reference point when I first highlight everything, but I have no idea how to do this and utilize this position as a spot to paste.

Here is my code:

Sub test()
    Dim sld As Slide
    Dim pre As Presentation

Set pre = ActivePresentation

For Each sld In pre.Slides
    sld.Shapes.Range.Cut

If sld.Shapes.Count > 0 Then
    sld.Shapes.Range.Delete
    sld.Shapes.PasteSpecial ppPastePNG
    ' Need to figure out how to paste in place here
    sld.Shapes.Range.Align msoAlignCenters, msoTrue
    sld.Shapes.Range.Align msoAlignMiddles, msoTrue
    End If

If sld.Shapes.Count = 0 Then
    sld.Shapes.PasteSpecial ppPastePNG
    ' Need to figure out how to paste in place here
    sld.Shapes.Range.Align msoAlignCenters, msoTrue
    sld.Shapes.Range.Align msoAlignMiddles, msoTrue
    End If

Next
    End Sub

I appreciate the help!!

PowerPoster

Re: Powerpoint Macro - Cannot figure out how to Paste in Place (can only paste in mid

Perhaps the effect will be more appealing if you copy the whole slide?
    Something like this:
    Code:
       Dim sld As Slide
       Dim pre As Presentation