dcsimg
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Saving text in textbox

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1

    Saving text in textbox

    In a Microsoft Store App how do I save text in a textbox so that it stays in the box after the app is closed and opened again? I know this can be done through Settings in a Windows Forms App, but there is no provision for Settings in Visual Basic 2013 for Store Apps.

  2. #2
    Addicted Member thetimmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Plano, Texas
    Posts
    243

    Re: Saving text in textbox

    I haven't built any MS Store apps but can you just right out a txt file with key value pairs?

    I think this will get you writing txt files
    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...-to-file-in-vb
    _____________
    Tim

    If anyone's answer has helped you, please show your appreciation by rating that answer.
    When you get a solution to your issue remember to mark the thread Resolved.


    reference links

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Joacim Andersson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    14,649

    Re: Saving text in textbox

    Thread moved to the Modern Windows Experience forum.
    Joacim Andersson
    If anyone's answer has helped you, please show your appreciation by rating that answer.
    I'd rather run ScriptBrix...
    Joacim's view on stuff.

    MVP

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    10

    Re: Saving text in textbox

    when uyou want to save text i textbox you have to select a controls key with strings

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    10

    Re: Saving text in textbox

    If you do then you can just place it inbetween the textarea tags like this...

    <Textarea> Text here </Textarea>

    If you want to display something from a mysql database you can just echo it

    <Textarea>

    <?php echo $mytextstring; ?>

    </Textarea>

    ....with "$mytextstring" obviously being what you queried from the database.

  6. #6
    PowerPoster techgnome's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    31,949

    Re: Saving text in textbox

    Quote Originally Posted by sandeepv415 View Post
    If you do then you can just place it inbetween the textarea tags like this...

    <Textarea> Text here </Textarea>

    If you want to display something from a mysql database you can just echo it

    <Textarea>

    <?php echo $mytextstring; ?>

    </Textarea>

    ....with "$mytextstring" obviously being what you queried from the database.
    I didn't know you could run PHP code in a Windows Forms App, considering that PHP is a server side technology for web pages, that's quite the feat there.

    -tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width