dcsimg

Thread: Issues saving data from datagridview to database

Issues saving data from datagridview to database

Hi All, I'm new to this forum and straight off the bat I start bothering you guys with an issue, or as we call it at work a "challenge".

I'm quite new to Visual Basic and mainly have thought myself to use Visual Basic Express 2010, so I have limited knowledge about the behind the database connection (mainly use the wizard an connection functions of the program) so bare with me when i try to explain my issue.

The project I'm working on is a planning tool i'm designing to use at work. The mainform consist of 4 datagridviews filled from an access database (.mdb). The database contains multiple columns including 1 keynumber and a priority column. The 4 datagridviews are filtered on either priority 1, 2, 3 or 4. I want to be able to change the priority in of the database entries to move them either up or down using 4 sets of buttons. Now I use the following button code to change the value in the priority column and safe the data from the datagrid to the database. (datagridview number and priority value are different for every button)

Code:
     DataGridView1.CurrentRow.Cells(0).Value = "2"
            Me.Validate()
            Me.BindingSource1.EndEdit()
            Me.BindingSource2.EndEdit()
            Me.BindingSource3.EndEdit()
            Me.BindingSource4.EndEdit()
            Me.TableAdapterManager.UpdateAll(Me.DatabaseDataSet)
            Me.DatabaseDataSet.AcceptChanges()