Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [RESOLVED] Hello All. Let Me introduce Myself.

Lively Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] Hello All. Let Me introduce Myself.

First, I've been posting in the VB 6 part of this forum for about a month. I used to be a professional programmer. but I ended up taking about 10 years off. Now I would like to get back into it. I'm in the middle of trying to put my tools together and learn how much I have to re-learn. At this point it looks like it will take a while, but I am already working on a commercial VB6 app.

I put my first computer together in 1987. The first software I bought for it was Borland Turbo C 1.0. I have always liked C better than VB, but clients wanted VB, so . . . I'm not under that constraint anymore.

I'm using Pelles C just to get back into it, but I would really like to switch to the Borland C++ 5.5 Compiler with attachments. That's where the questions will come from. Although I hate Mickeysoft, both for what it is and what it stands for, Windoze does have a few advantages over the alternatives. Yes, I think Bill Gates is the anti-christ, and refused to use Windoze until my job forced me to. I wouldn't even use MS DOS, especially when almost all of the other DOS variants were better in every way.)

Enough ranting.The point is that I have hardly ever done programming (actually compiling, linking and those essential steps) from the command line. I need to learn (not re-learn), with the Borland C 5.5 compiler as my goal. (I already have Mickeysoft Visual C++ 6.0 and I think it sux.)

I just wanted to let you know that some of my questions will be pretty strange. I think Miser thought I was either crazy or 8 years old when I started posting there, but he seems to have realized that I'm at least being serious.

Discovering Life Siddharth Rout's Avatar

Re: [RESOLVED] Hello All. Let Me introduce Myself.

Welcome back I have moved your thread from C and C++ to chit chat where you will get a even more warm welcome