Thread: Windows Form Vs WPF and XAML

Windows Form Vs WPF and XAML

I am new to vb.net and have been trying out the Windows Form and the WPF.

With the WPF, MS is enabling the developer to separate the Design of a form, from the Programming behind the form. The Design can be done manually or in Blend and the end result is XAML.

I have two questions for the time being:
    1) Can a developer perform ALL the Design in VB, without bothering with XAML?
    2) What are the advantages of using XAML instead of VB?

Thanks,
    John

Re: Windows Form Vs WPF and XAML

1) Theoretically this would be possible, yes, but it would be incredibly hard to do, and give you zero benefit whilst making your code harder to write. Pretend the answer is "No".
    2) The main benefit in my eyes is the separation of presentation (XAML) from the application logic (VB code). Being able to deal with these two areas separately and letting WPF's databinding system do the menial work of keeping changes in sync is a very big win. Another good thing is its declarative style (as opposed to the imperative style you would normally end up with in VB code), which can save a ton of time.
    XAML can be a bit verbose with all its tags, but VS has pretty good tools for working with it, so you don't need to type it all by hand. As well, there is Blend that you mention, so you're aware of that.

Note that you can get the separation of presentation and logic with WinForms, but it doesn't push you down that route, and it is very easy to mix up logic and presentation concerns in the code-behind of a form. There are libraries and frameworks that can sit on top of WinForms to help guide you away from that, or you can just write your code in a MV* architecture (usually MVP is the easiest, although MVC is doable. Even MVVM is doable - I once wrote a library to help do MVVM in WinForms as part of a long term transition to WPF at a previous company).

Thanks for the reply. In other words embrace WPF and XAML.