dcsimg

Thread: Timer Test

Timer Test

I've programmed in Basic in the past but I'm brand new to VB. I'm trying to understand the timer function. I wrote a short program to display a count from 1 to 20 in one second intervals or so I thought.
    Here's the code:

Dim Counter As Integer
    Counter = 1
    Do
    Timer1.Enabled = False
    TextBox1.Text = Counter
    Timer1.Enabled = True
    Counter = Counter + 1
    Loop While Counter < 21
    End

I put this under a Button_Click event with the Timer_Tick listed first. The Timer_Tick has no code associated with it and the interval is 1000. When I run the progam, it stops in less than a second and ends and the form goes back to design mode.
    I've also tried For-Next and If statements to increment the counter but nothing works. What am I doing wrong?
    Thanks for the help.

Re: Timer Test

You aren't. If timer don't have any code so what are you testing?
    Timer works this way:
    If timer is enabled, each milisecond (interval on the properties), run the code that is on timer function

Code:
    Private Sub Timer1_Tick(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Timer1.Tick
         '*your code here will run here
    End Sub
    You don't need to make that while, i don't know why you are trying to do.

Just make this simple program:

Code:
    Public Class Form1
        Dim counter As Integer = 0
        Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
            Timer1.Enabled = True
        End Sub

Private Sub Timer1_Tick(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Timer1.Tick
            counter += 1
            TextBox1.Text = counter
        End Sub
    End Class