Thread: Vertically up Headers

Addicted Member

Vertically up Headers

Hi guys, I am trying to design a form with headers that read vertically up. This is to save space so I can fit many columns. I tried datagrid but am not sure how to achieve this. I use WPF and Vb.net. Please suggest any other better solution eg importing an excel or doc table, if that is possible. I have never tried that before. I am a little stuck. Thanks if you can help.

Re: Vertically up Headers

I've been playing around with this for a while with some fairly unspectacular results so the best I can offer at the moment is vertically down headers. Consider this a work in progress!

vb.net Code:
    1. ' in the form which has your dgv
    3.     Private Sub Form1_Load(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
    4.         Column1.HeaderCell = New VerticalColumnHeader
    5. ' etc.
    6.     End Sub
    8. ' and the class
    10. Class VerticalColumnHeader
    11.     Inherits DataGridViewColumnHeaderCell
    13.     Protected Overrides Sub Paint(graphics As System.Drawing.Graphics, clipBounds As System.Drawing.Rectangle, cellBounds As System.Drawing.Rectangle, rowIndex As Integer, dataGridViewElementState As System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewElementStates, value As Object, formattedValue As Object, errorText As String, cellStyle As System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewCellStyle, advancedBorderStyle As System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewAdvancedBorderStyle, paintParts As System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewPaintParts)
    14.         MyBase.Paint(graphics, clipBounds, cellBounds, rowIndex, dataGridViewElementState, "", "", errorText, cellStyle, advancedBorderStyle, paintParts)
    15.         Dim f As New StringFormat
    16.         f.FormatFlags = StringFormatFlags.DirectionVertical
    17.         graphics.SmoothingMode = Drawing2D.SmoothingMode.HighQuality