Thread: Not sure if I should use Gridview or not

Fanatic Member

Not sure if I should use Gridview or not

Hello: I'm creating a web app and have a new form.
    On this form, needs to be one row and 6 columns.
    The columns will need to contain dropdowns and textboxes.

The user will be able to enter this form...either in edit or insert mode.
    If they are in insert mode, they will need to select an item from each dropdown and also enter text into the textboxes.

As the user is tabbing to select/enter data into each of these objects, when they get to the 2nd to the last object, I will need to provide them with a new row
    that contains the same 6 columns and same ojects...esentially, add a new row.

I was thinking it would be good to use a Gridview to do this but I'm new to web design (been doing window's apps till now)...and so not sure
    if the grid view will do all the stuff I spoke of above or if I need to create a user control or just add code that dynamically creates these objects when needed?

what do you think is best for this paticular situation?

thank you for your help.

Proctor

King of sapila

Re: Not sure if I should use Gridview or not

I am not sure i a gridview could pop a second row without posting back and not sure the behavior it will get using an update panel. I never was on a situation of yours and it's an interesting question.
    Probably could be done with a Jquery grid but i won't put my hand in the fire, since i am currently reading Jquery and haven't had the opportunity to use p.e. slickgrid.
    ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ
    πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν·

The GridView is very powerful, and very customizable, and I think that "out of the box" it will do almost everything that you want.

However, based on this:

As the user is tabbing to select/enter data into each of these objects, when they get to the 2nd to the last object, I will need to provide them with a new row