Thread: Image List must be initialized before it can be used.

Lively Member

Image List must be initialized before it can be used.

GOod afternoon,
    I am new to VB6 however relatively experienced in VBA.

I am attempting to load information into a ListView control via an Access DB. I have placed the following code into the form_load event.

However I receive an error on the highlighted line: "Image List must be initialized before it can be used".

When I initially added the listview, I right clicked on the control and selected properties. I have the view set as '3 - lvwReport'. I set up my 5 columns by going to the Column Headers tab and entering each. However when I go to Image Lists, all the drop downs show '<none>'

Thoughts?

Code:
    Private Sub Form_Load()
    Dim MyConn As ADODB.Connection

Set MyConn = New ADODB.Connection
    MyConn.ConnectionString = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=H:\Business Intelligence\VB6\Database9.mdb;"
    MyConn.Open

Dim strSQL As String 'our query string
    Dim oRS As ADODB.Recordset 'our recordset object
    Dim lvwItem As ListItem 'this is necessary to directly reference the ListView control
    Set oRS = New ADODB.Recordset

'change this SQL as appropriate for your needs
    strSQL = "SELECT Date_Entered, Loan_Number, Investor, State, Doc_type FROM MailTeamTracker "
    'change oConn to reflect the Connection object you are using in your program
    oRS.Open strSQL, MyConn, adOpenForwardOnly, adLockReadOnly

'load the listview
    Do While Not oRS.EOF
       Set lvwItem = ListView1.ListItems.Add(, , oRS.Fields.Item("Date_Entered").Value, "mm/dd/yyy")
       lvwItem.SubItems(1) = oRS.Fields.Item("Loan_Number").Value
       'change the date format as required
       lvwItem.SubItems(2) = Format(oRS.Fields.Item("Investor").Value)
       lvwItem.SubItems(3) = oRS.Fields.Item("State").Value
       'change the date format as required
       lvwItem.SubItems(4) = Format(oRS.Fields.Item("Doc_Type").Value)