default.aspx has stopped loading implicitly-VBForums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: default.aspx has stopped loading implicitly

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    228

    default.aspx has stopped loading implicitly

    I'm not sure what I did to cause this but my website homepage won't load unless I specifically type the filename into the root of the website - i.e. www.mywebsite.com/default.aspx works but www.mywebsite.com doesn't. It could be something I changed in the web.config or the project properties. Any ideas what could have happened?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Hyperactive Member jasonwucinski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    448

    Re: default.aspx has stopped loading implicitly

    are you using IIS? You need to set the default page it should redirect to. If you aren't using IIS, or it's setup for you and you can't access it, you may have renamed the default page it is looking for. It may be looking for Default.aspx but you renamed it to default.aspx (case sensitive) or from .aspx to .html
    if i was able to help, rate my post!

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    228

    Re: default.aspx has stopped loading implicitly

    I've uploaded my project to the university server and noticed this issue started up. I don't have access to any web server settings or anything, just my web space that's on there. I've tried renaming the Default.aspx file to default.aspx and still the same.

  4. #4
    Hyperactive Member jasonwucinski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    448

    Re: default.aspx has stopped loading implicitly

    you may need to contact your administrator of IIS. As I stated, it sounds like the default page setting has changed. It could have been something they did and not you.
    if i was able to help, rate my post!

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    228

    Re: default.aspx has stopped loading implicitly

    My solution consists of a Web Application project and a MVC project. I've just found that if I publish both projects I get "the resource cannot be found" if I don't explicitly type default.aspx. If I only publish the Web app project, however, it's fine.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    228

    Re: default.aspx has stopped loading implicitly

    I give up, I'm just going to submit the assignment as is. It's probably something to do with the way I've published the website and it mixing MVC with non MVC but hey-ho. Thanks again for your help, Jason!

  7. #7
    Hyperactive Member jasonwucinski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    448

    Re: default.aspx has stopped loading implicitly

    no problem. also make sure both projects dont have a default page named "default.aspx". Only one should have that
    if i was able to help, rate my post!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.