Thread: Which Language Should I Use?

Which Language Should I Use?

I'm a newbie when it comes to programming and I'm going to be creating small, simple program and just want to know whether what type of VB language i should use.

Basically the application will allow a user to search an Xbox 360 game they may have and have 5 games recommended to them below it based on pre-determined tags.

I will create a database with around 200ish video game titles, description and developer and adding tags to them (first person, shooter, adventure, action adventure etc...).
    Users can search for games based on tags or they find a game they already have, or want and have other recommended.

Anyway, which is the best language for that?

Thank you!

Re: Which Language Should I Use?

ALL programming would probably allow you to do that, even PASCAL or BASIC. Because you posted on THIS forum, you will get a lot of VBA, VB6 and VB.NET folks out there all giving you an opinion on what is easier to learn quickly. "I" would recommend Visual FoxPro, but that is SO outdated not many use it anymore...Next, of course, "I" would recommend VB6 and Access as your database. However, the VB6 program is harder to come by than it's 'replacement', VB.NET (or Visual Studio.NET). You can get a FREE version of a good VB.net on the internet...just Google it....And, FOR MOST, VB.NET is a tad bid more difficult to understand unless he/she has had a lot of object oriented programming experience.
    So, IF you can get a legal copy of VB6, that is what I'd say use....but you will get a whole lot more respondents with their preferences, I am sure.

PowerPoster