Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [RESOLVED] Multiple SubItems

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    40

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Multiple SubItems

    Hello forum,
    Visual Studio 2010 - Crystal Reports
    I am working on a small vb program for my work. I need to be able to create a report containing project information, Project Items and the sub items that make up the Project Item. I have the three tables.

    Table 1(Project information)
    project_number
    project_name
    date
    time
    location
    ....many more fields

    table 2(Project Items)
    project_number
    item_number
    description
    qty
    price

    table 3(sub items)
    project_number
    item_number
    sub_number
    description
    qty
    price

    I have the project information OK in the report header. I added the project items to the detail(a) and its displays them well. but if I add the sub items directly under it I get the following.

    Item# 123 project_item_description qty: 12 price: 120
    Sub item 1 qty: 5 price: 5
    Item# 123 project_item_description qty: 12 price: 120
    Sub Item 2 qty: 3 price: 4

    I did try suppressing duplicates but it makes a mess. The way Im loading it now is I have a dataset that is binded to the report. the three tables are loaded with only the information for this current project. Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    some place in the cloud
    Posts
    1,886

    Re: Multiple SubItems

    You should insert 2 groups
    1 for project_number
    1 for item_number
    and use the groups headers to place the correspondent fields
    and in detail section place only the sub items fields
    JG


    ... If your problem is fixed don't forget to mark your threads as resolved using the Thread Tools menu ...

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    40

    Re: Multiple SubItems

    Looks alot better. But the only problem is that now the Main items require a sub item in order to show.

  4. #4
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    some place in the cloud
    Posts
    1,886

    Re: Multiple SubItems

    Post a picture from your rpt view
    JG


    ... If your problem is fixed don't forget to mark your threads as resolved using the Thread Tools menu ...

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    40

    Re: Multiple SubItems

    Name:  report.png
Views: 110
Size:  125.5 KB

    That is in designer form.

    following is in preview mode

    Name:  Reportview.png
Views: 100
Size:  39.6 KB

    Here is the link table

    Name:  Datalinks.png
Views: 103
Size:  32.5 KB

    The multiple details are for other data I'm waiting to add

  6. #6
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    some place in the cloud
    Posts
    1,886

    Re: Multiple SubItems

    I think that you should change the table order in CR
    the sub_items table is first and it should be linked to bid_items table and bid_list

    Try removing all the links
    drag the sub_items table to the left side of the database expert screen
    link with 2 others tables

    sub_items ---> bid_items ---> bid_list
    JG


    ... If your problem is fixed don't forget to mark your threads as resolved using the Thread Tools menu ...

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    40

    Re: Multiple SubItems

    Thank you for all the help. Worked great!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width