[RESOLVED] vb.net control button in popup-VBForums
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: [RESOLVED] vb.net control button in popup

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    42

    Resolved [RESOLVED] vb.net control button in popup

    Hi, I'm new to programming and I need help with something really basic..

    I have a form with a datagridview and an "insert" button that opens a popup window (new form). This popup contains labels and textboxes, and 2 buttons (insert & cancel). How do you add event handlers to the buttons inside the popup? For example, if the user clicks "Cancel", the popup should close.

    Here's the code I have so far:

    Public Sub InsertButton_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles InsertButton.Click

    Dim insertPopup As New Form
    insertPopup.Size = New System.Drawing.Size(300, 400)
    insertPopup.StartPosition = FormStartPosition.CenterScreen
    insertPopup.Show()

    Dim acceptButton As New Button
    Dim cancelButton As New Button

    acceptButton.Location = New System.Drawing.Point(100, 325)
    acceptButton.Text = "Insert"
    acceptButton.Size = New System.Drawing.Size(85, 24)
    acceptButton.TabIndex = 1

    cancelButton.Location = New System.Drawing.Point(190, 325)
    cancelButton.Text = "Cancel"
    cancelButton.Size = New System.Drawing.Size(85, 24)
    cancelButton.TabIndex = 2

    insertPopup.Controls.Add(acceptButton)
    insertPopup.Controls.Add(cancelButton)

    End Sub

    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    .NUT jmcilhinney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96,579

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Woah! Why are you adding controls to this "popup" in code after showing it? It's just a form like any other, so just treat it like any other form. Add the Buttons and their event handlers in the designer, just as you have for the main form containing the grid. There's no reason to do it any differently.

    Also, I strongly suggest that you call ShowDialog rather than Show. You should check out this CodeBank thread of mine:

    http://www.vbforums.com/showthread.p...gue&highlight=
    Why is my data not saved to my database? | MSDN Data Walkthroughs
    MSDN "How Do I?" Videos: VB | C#
    VBForums Database Development FAQ
    My CodeBank Submissions: VB | C#
    My Blog: Data Among Multiple Forms (3 parts)
    Beginner Tutorials: VB | C# | SQL

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    42

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Thanks so much... I just read your CodeBank thread and it really helped.

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    42

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    I tried your code but I'm not getting what I want. I suspect it's because my datagridview is pulling data from mySQL, so it's dynamic. Right now, using the following code, I'm getting a complete blank in every textbox in the updatePopup Form.

    Private Sub fetchData(ByVal tableName As String)

    command = New MySqlCommand
    dt = New DataTable
    adapter = New MySqlDataAdapter

    If (conn.State = ConnectionState.Closed) Then
    setConnection()
    End If

    command.Connection = conn
    command.CommandText = "select * from `" & tableName & "`;"

    adapter.SelectCommand = command
    reader = command.ExecuteReader

    dt.Load(reader)
    BindingSource1.DataSource = dt
    DataGridView1.DataSource = BindingSource1

    reader.Close()
    conn.Close()

    End Sub

    Private Sub DataGridView1_CellDoubleClick(sender As System.Object, e As System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewCellEventArgs) Handles DataGridView1.CellDoubleClick
    Dim row As DataRow = DirectCast(Me.BindingSource1.Current, DataRowView).Row

    Using dialogue As New insertPopup()
    dialogue.ShowDialog()
    End Using
    End Sub


    Update Popup Form

    Public Class updatePopup

    Public Sub New()

    InitializeComponent()

    End Sub

    Private data As DataRow

    Public Sub New(ByVal data As DataRow)
    ' This call is required by the Windows Form Designer.
    InitializeComponent()

    ' Add any initialization after the InitializeComponent() call.

    Me.data = data
    TextBox1.Text = data("dataid").ToString()
    TextBox2.Text = CStr(data("col1"))
    TextBox3.Text = CStr(data("col2"))
    TextBox4.Text = CStr(data("col3"))
    TextBox5.Text = CStr(data("col4"))
    TextBox6.Text = CStr(data("col5"))
    TextBox7.Text = CStr(data("col6"))
    TextBox8.Text = CStr(data("col7"))
    End Sub

    Private Sub acceptButton_Click(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles acceptButton.Click
    data("col1") = TextBox2.Text
    data("col2") = TextBox3.Text
    data("col3") = TextBox4.Text
    data("col4") = TextBox5.Text
    data("col5") = TextBox6.Text
    data("col6") = TextBox7.Text
    data("col7") = TextBox8.Text
    End Sub

    End Class


    There are 2 problems with this so far:

    1) the selected row's values aren't showing up in the updatePopup form, since the datagridview is pulling the data from mySQL.
    2) even if it worked, I need the updatePopup form to work dynamically, so that the column names will be different, depending on what data table the user chose on the main form.

    I'm really lost in how to do this, and I'd greatly appreciate your help!!

    Thanks so much.
    Last edited by echoUser; Oct 9th, 2012 at 01:42 AM.

  5. #5
    .NUT jmcilhinney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96,579

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    First up, please use the Code or VBCode button provided on the advanced editor to wrap your code snippets in formatting tags or else enter the [code] or [highlight=vb.net] tags yourself.

    As for the issue, you might try reading your code a bit more carefully. Your first code snippet is creating an instance of a class named 'insertPopup' while the second code snippet is for a class named 'updatePopup'.

    As for this need for it to be "dynamic", you can create the TextBoxes on demand if you need to, but that would be done in the dialogue, not the calling form. You can get the DataTable from the DataRow and its Columns will tell you how many TextBoxes to display and what Labels to display beside them. I would suggest using a TableLayoutPanel to handle the layout of the Labels and TextBoxes and the OK and Cancel Buttons are still going to be created in the designer because they never change.
    Why is my data not saved to my database? | MSDN Data Walkthroughs
    MSDN "How Do I?" Videos: VB | C#
    VBForums Database Development FAQ
    My CodeBank Submissions: VB | C#
    My Blog: Data Among Multiple Forms (3 parts)
    Beginner Tutorials: VB | C# | SQL

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    42

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Yes, I just noticed that I was using the wrong form name. Now the textboxes are being filled correctly. I'll try your suggestion on using a tableLayoutPanel to handle the stuff in the dialogue dynamically. Will probably come back soon with more questions, but thanks again!

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    42

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    How can I get the DataTable from the DataRow? And the # of columns from that table?
    Also, when I click the OK button, how can I set each textbox to its new value without specifying the column & textbox, i.e. data("someColName") = TextBox2.Text ?

  8. #8
    .NUT jmcilhinney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96,579

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Quote Originally Posted by echoUser View Post
    How can I get the DataTable from the DataRow? And the # of columns from that table?
    Also, when I click the OK button, how can I set each textbox to its new value without specifying the column & textbox, i.e. data("someColName") = TextBox2.Text ?
    Have you read the documentation for the DataRow class? If not, why not? How much time do you think Microsoft spent compiling the Help documentation that you're ignoring? It should take no more than a couple of minutes to answer that first question and then not much more to answer the second. Look for yourself first and then ask here for what you can't find. We should be here to help you with problems, no t a substitute for your own endeavours.
    Why is my data not saved to my database? | MSDN Data Walkthroughs
    MSDN "How Do I?" Videos: VB | C#
    VBForums Database Development FAQ
    My CodeBank Submissions: VB | C#
    My Blog: Data Among Multiple Forms (3 parts)
    Beginner Tutorials: VB | C# | SQL

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    42

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Okay, here's what I have.

    Code:
    Public Sub New(ByVal data As DataRow)
            InitializeComponent()
    
            Me.data = data
    
            Dim table = data.Table
            Dim column = data.Table.Columns
    
            Dim textBox As New TextBox()
            textBox.Size = New Size(200, 30)
    
            TableLayoutPanel.ColumnStyles.Add(New ColumnStyle())
    
            For Each column In table.Columns
                TableLayoutPanel.RowStyles.Add(New RowStyle())
                TableLayoutPanel.Controls.Add(textBox)
            Next
    
            Controls.Add(TableLayoutPanel)
    
        End Sub
    I got an error saying system.data.datacolumn cannot be casted to system.data.dataColumnCollection.
    Could you please point out what fixes I need to make?

    Thank you.

  10. #10
    .NUT jmcilhinney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96,579

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Does this make sense:
    Code:
    Public Sub New(ByVal data As DataRow)
            InitializeComponent()
    
            Me.data = data
    
            Dim table = data.Table
            Dim column = data.Table.Columns
            Dim textBox As New TextBox()
            textBox.Size = New Size(200, 30)
    
            TableLayoutPanel.ColumnStyles.Add(New ColumnStyle())
    
            For Each column In table.Columns
                TableLayoutPanel.RowStyles.Add(New RowStyle())
                TableLayoutPanel.Controls.Add(textBox)
            Next
    
            Controls.Add(TableLayoutPanel)
    
        End Sub
    Either 'column' is all the columns or it's one of the columns, not both. Given that the property is named Columns, does it make sense to assign it to a variable named 'column'? Common sense: don't mix singular and plural. Just get rid of that first line because it serves no useful purpose.

    Again, why are adding the TableLayoutPanel to the form in code? Adding controls in the designer should ALWAYS be your first choice. Only add controls in code if you don't know about them at design time. The TableLayoutPanel you know about at design time. The Labels and TextBoxes in the TableLayoutPanel you do not know about until run time. Two columns in the TLP and, for each column, add a Label and a TextBox.
    Why is my data not saved to my database? | MSDN Data Walkthroughs
    MSDN "How Do I?" Videos: VB | C#
    VBForums Database Development FAQ
    My CodeBank Submissions: VB | C#
    My Blog: Data Among Multiple Forms (3 parts)
    Beginner Tutorials: VB | C# | SQL

  11. #11
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    351

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Also I believe your sql statement wont work as you have put quotes round the table name which are not needed:

    Code:
    command.CommandText = "select * from `" & tableName & "`;"
    Should be:

    Code:
    command.CommandText = "select * from " & tableName & ";"
    If your table name includes spaces (which I recommend not doing) then you need brackets round the table name like:

    Code:
    command.CommandText = "select * from [" & tableName & "];"
    HTH
    Rico

    Using: VB.net & MS SQL

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Shaggy Hiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    30,829

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    I noticed that, too. I was surprised that the SQL even executed, but I figured that perhaps MySQL uses a different flavor of SQL.

    Another issue with the original code is that you create a dataadapter, set the SelectCommand of that dataadapter, then use a reader to fill the table. There is no need for the dataadapter if you are going to use a reader to fill the table. The two mechanisms are alternative methods for filling a table. You are using parts of both. This won't cause any particular harm, since the dataadapter is created, then destroyed, but why bother?
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

  13. #13

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    42

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Hi Rico, I'm using mySQL, and the brackets don't seem to work. I think the syntax for mySQL is single quotes.
    Thanks for your advice though!

  14. #14
    .NUT jmcilhinney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96,579

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Quote Originally Posted by echoUser View Post
    Hi Rico, I'm using mySQL, and the brackets don't seem to work. I think the syntax for mySQL is single quotes.
    Thanks for your advice though!
    They're not single quotes. They are graves. The singular is grave (pronounced "grarv") and it's an accent used in French. It is found on the same key as the tilde (~), in the top, left corner of the keyboard, while a single quote is found on the same key as the double quote.
    Why is my data not saved to my database? | MSDN Data Walkthroughs
    MSDN "How Do I?" Videos: VB | C#
    VBForums Database Development FAQ
    My CodeBank Submissions: VB | C#
    My Blog: Data Among Multiple Forms (3 parts)
    Beginner Tutorials: VB | C# | SQL

  15. #15

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    42

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Could you take a look at my for loop and tell me why it's only getting the last column? Thanks.

    Code:
            Dim i As Integer
            Dim dt As DataTable = data.Table
            Dim dc As DataColumn
            Dim row As DataRow = data
    
            Dim label As New Label
            label.Size = New System.Drawing.Size(100, 17)
    
            Dim textbox As New TextBox
            textbox.Size = New System.Drawing.Size(100, 17)
    
            tbltest.RowCount = dt.Columns.Count
            tbltest.ColumnCount = 2
    
            For i = 0 To dt.Columns.Count - 1
    
                dc = dt.Columns(i)
                tbltest.RowStyles.Add(New RowStyle())
    
                label.Text = dc.ColumnName
                textbox.Text = row(dc).ToString()
    
                tbltest.Controls.Add(label, 0, i)
                tbltest.Controls.Add(textbox, 1, i)
    
            Next

  16. #16
    .NUT jmcilhinney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96,579

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    How many Labels and how many TextBoxes are you creating there?
    Why is my data not saved to my database? | MSDN Data Walkthroughs
    MSDN "How Do I?" Videos: VB | C#
    VBForums Database Development FAQ
    My CodeBank Submissions: VB | C#
    My Blog: Data Among Multiple Forms (3 parts)
    Beginner Tutorials: VB | C# | SQL

  17. #17
    Super Moderator Shaggy Hiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    30,829

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    And, in case you missed it, the answer to that question is the key to the problem.
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

  18. #18

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    42

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Apparently just one each, but since the controls.add functions are inside the loop, shouldn't it create however many columns there are?

  19. #19
    .NUT jmcilhinney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96,579

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    It's not the Add method that creates the controls. To create an object you must invoke a constructor using the New keyword.

    Programming objects behave pretty much like real-world objects, which is the whole intention of object-oriented programming. Let's say that you have an egg carton with a dozen cups and you have one egg. If you add that egg to the carton in the first cup, then you add it in the second, then you add it in the third and so on until you add it in the twelfth, what do you have? Do you magically have a dozen eggs? No, you just have one egg in the last cup because that's where you last put it.

    The same is happening here. You've only got one Label and one TextBox and you just keep moving them. If you want multiple controls then you have to create multiple controls, which means invoking the constructor multiple times. Currently it's what's inside the loop that is getting executed multiple times, so that should tell you about where to invoke the constructor.
    Why is my data not saved to my database? | MSDN Data Walkthroughs
    MSDN "How Do I?" Videos: VB | C#
    VBForums Database Development FAQ
    My CodeBank Submissions: VB | C#
    My Blog: Data Among Multiple Forms (3 parts)
    Beginner Tutorials: VB | C# | SQL

  20. #20

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    42

    Re: vb.net control button in popup

    Okay, I think I got it. Thanks for your help.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.