Package and Deployment Doubt-VBForums
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Package and Deployment Doubt

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    41

    Package and Deployment Doubt

    If I install a program that was created by Visual Basic 6.0 (via Package and Deployment Wizard), and install it on my computer, is Visual Basic 6.0 need to run that installed program?

  2. #2
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Maldon, Essex. UK
    Posts
    6,334

    Re: Package and Deployment Doubt

    No - the Package and Deployment Wizard will have included all the dependencies required by the Program.

    EDIT: To be slightly more accurate, the VB6 Runtime Libraries will be required (which will be included in the P&D Setup package generated)

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    41

    Re: Package and Deployment Doubt

    Quote Originally Posted by Doogle View Post
    No - the Package and Deployment Wizard will have included all the dependencies required by the Program.
    SO if I install the program on another computer that doesn't have Visual Basic 6 installed on it, the program would work perfectly?

  4. #4
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Maldon, Essex. UK
    Posts
    6,334

    Re: Package and Deployment Doubt

    Only if it's been written 'perfectly'

    There are one or two poptential problems, the P&D Wizard will automatically include dependencies; however, if you have any data files that are required by the Program (e.g. a Database) you'll have to manually include then when running the P&D.

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    41

    Re: Package and Deployment Doubt

    Quote Originally Posted by Doogle View Post
    Only if it's been written 'perfectly'

    There are one or two poptential problems, the P&D Wizard will automatically include dependencies; however, if you have any data files that are required by the Program (e.g. a Database) you'll have to manually include then when running the P&D.
    There are a couple of pictures I will be using on the form. What about them? Should they also be stored like the database?

  6. #6
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Maldon, Essex. UK
    Posts
    6,334

    Re: Package and Deployment Doubt

    Depends on how you've 'loaded' the Pictures. If you have set the Picture properties at design time, then no you don't have to manually include them, otherwise, yes you do.

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    41

    Re: Package and Deployment Doubt

    What do you mean "Picture properties at design time". Can you please explain a little bit more

  8. #8
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Maldon, Essex. UK
    Posts
    6,334

    Re: Package and Deployment Doubt

    Do you, for instance, draw a PictureBox on the Form and then enter the filename and path to the picture in the Properties Window of the IDE or do you use a LoadPicture statement within your code? e.g.
    Code:
    Picture1.Picture= LoadPicture("C:\Mydir\MyPic.jpg")
    If the latter then you'd need to manually include c:\Mydir\MyPic.jpg in the P&D

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    41

    Re: Package and Deployment Doubt

    Quote Originally Posted by Doogle View Post
    Do you, for instance, draw a PictureBox on the Form and then enter the filename and path to the picture in the Properties Window of the IDE or do you use a LoadPicture statement within your code? e.g.
    Code:
    Picture1.Picture= LoadPicture("C:\Mydir\MyPic.jpg")
    If the latter then you'd need to manually include c:\Mydir\MyPic.jpg in the P&D
    I use the properties window to enter the picture. Therefore I don't need to include the pictures. Correct?

  10. #10
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Maldon, Essex. UK
    Posts
    6,334

    Re: Package and Deployment Doubt

    Yes, that's right

  11. #11

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    41

    Re: Package and Deployment Doubt

    I use VBDataReports in my software. For them to be created on the installed program, shouldn't VB be installed on the computer?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.