Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [RESOLVED] explorer.exe

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    47

    Resolved [RESOLVED] explorer.exe

    hello again guys.. i want to ask how can i link the explorer.exe to my VB6 program. i accomplished file navigation by using drivelist,filelist,and dirlist boxes but i wonder if i can improve it by using explorer.exe.. is it even possible?

    thanks for the advices PROs..

  2. #2
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    339

    Re: explorer.exe

    u can use explorer to open a file

    shell ("location\explorer.exe "www.ur file or site.com")

  3. #3
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11,074

    Re: explorer.exe

    Same way but I think he is referring to windows explorer (explorer.exe), not internet explorer (iexplore.exe)

    shell "location\explorer.exe "C:\filename"
    Last edited by jmsrickland; Jun 16th, 2012 at 09:10 AM.


    Anything I post is an example only and is not intended to be the only solution, the total solution nor the final solution to your request nor do I claim that it is. If you find it useful then it is entirely up to you to make whatever changes necessary you feel are adequate for your purposes.

  4. #4
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    14,205

    Re: explorer.exe

    Quote Originally Posted by jmsrickland View Post
    Same way but I think he is referring to windows explorer (explorer.exe), not internet explorer (iexplore.exe)

    shell "location\explorer.exe "C:\filename"
    Explorer will launch the browser if passed a web address if that is the intent but would be better to launch the browser directly if the goal is to open a web site.
    If the goal is to open a file then use explorer as shown above
    Last edited by DataMiser; Jun 16th, 2012 at 10:33 AM.

  5. #5
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11,074

    Re: explorer.exe

    Already tried that - won't do it

    You can do this:

    Shell "c:\windows\explorer.exe C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe", vbNormalFocus


    but not this:

    Shell "c:\windows\explorer.exe C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe www.somewebsite.com", vbNormalFocus


    and not this:

    Shell "c:\windows\explorer.exe www.somewebsite.com", vbNormalFocus


    because you will get this:

    Error: The path ......... does not exist or is not a directory
    Last edited by jmsrickland; Jun 16th, 2012 at 11:04 AM.


    Anything I post is an example only and is not intended to be the only solution, the total solution nor the final solution to your request nor do I claim that it is. If you find it useful then it is entirely up to you to make whatever changes necessary you feel are adequate for your purposes.

  6. #6
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    14,205

    Re: explorer.exe

    Quote Originally Posted by jmsrickland View Post
    Already tried that - won't do it
    hmm.. that is interesting I guess I just assumed it would since you can type a web address into the title bar and trigger the browser. You would think that a passed reference would do the same but apparently not.

  7. #7
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11,074

    Re: explorer.exe

    OK, you are correct, it works if you do this:

    Shell "c:\windows\explorer.exe http:\\www.somewebsite.com", vbNormalFocus

    You have to prefix the "http:\\"
    Last edited by jmsrickland; Jun 16th, 2012 at 11:38 AM.


    Anything I post is an example only and is not intended to be the only solution, the total solution nor the final solution to your request nor do I claim that it is. If you find it useful then it is entirely up to you to make whatever changes necessary you feel are adequate for your purposes.

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    47

    Re: explorer.exe

    well thanks for all the advices, but what i need to know is how can i get the path the user chooses in the explorer window, for example the user go to "C:\My Documents\some docu", how can i get that specific path and show it in the program? sorry for the late reply though.

  9. #9
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Brooklyn NY USA
    Posts
    1,258

    Re: explorer.exe

    use the commondialog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width