Thread: Which type of database to use?

Hybrid View

Lively Member

Which type of database to use?

Hi,
    I am a sixth form student and I'm attempting to make a quiz game.

It needs to have a database to hold the questions, answers, value of the question and the difficulty.

Every computer I have used to connect my program to the .accdb database, I have had to install Microsoft Access Database Engine 2010 (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=13255) before my program would connect to the database.

I do not have microsoft office installed on my computer, could this be the reason? Or could it be that I should use a different type of database?
    I am using VB and SQL

I plan on other people using the quiz so I don't want them to have to install MADE before they can use it.

Hyperactive Member jasonwucinski's Avatar

Re: Which type of database to use?

Hello,
    You have a few choices to pick from. Each with pro's and con's.

You can use a database (my preference) or you can use a flat file (like XML file or excel, or a comma delimited file). If you dont expect more than one person at a time will be reading/writing to the file at a time and you wont be doing complicated searches etc on the data, this should be fine. If you expect to only read questions, answers, and difficulty, XML might actually be the way to go.

If you plan to do something more complicated using a database is the right direction. You must distribute the database with your application and be sure that the user has the required drivers. For instance, if you chose to use Access, your users will need to have Microsoft access installed on their computer. FYI, i see you said there was a problem with your .accdb file. This is an Access 2007 version. If you had it working on on computer but fails on another, its probably due to the fact that one computer has 2007 and the other has 2003. You need to check compatibility.