Thread: [RESOLVED] I've never used Oracle before

Hybrid View

Resolved [RESOLVED] I've never used Oracle before

I have to run a stored procedure in Oracle. I will be on our client's network. I am writing an ASP.NET page in C# to do this.

I've never used Oracle before, only Microsoft data sources. So, this article is a little bit confusing to me: http://www.codeguru.com/csharp/cshar...p-Tutorial.htm

How do I know if I want to connect to Oracle using System.Data.OracleClient Data Provider or connect to Oracle using Oracle.DataAccess.Client Data Provider?

What the client has given me is: the database name, an id and password, a package name (what's that?) and a "package procedure definition" (I'm assuming that's like a stored procedure in SQL Server) and its second parameter is curData out T_CURSOR - what does that mean I am getting back? What do I pass in?

The hard part about this development is I have visual studio on my PC, but I have to run my page on a laptop they have sent me which connects to their network. So I can't quickly make code changes or see what I am getting back. I don't have the tools to make an Oracle DB locally for testing. I have to build a DLL, run the page, and just write something out to let me know if it's working. Any ideas how to best do this?

Thanks if you can help. I will keep googling for tutorials...
    There are 10 kinds of people in this world. Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Re: I've never used Oracle before

Hold off answering this for now - I just went to talk to my boss, who seems to think the client has pulled a fast one, as this is the first he has heard of the DB not being SQL Server!
    There are 10 kinds of people in this world. Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

"think the client has pulled a fast one" - NO! Say it isn't so! that NEVER happens.... ;0)

-tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*