Thread: Auto Open/Refresh Pivots/Save/Close Excel files using VB

Hybrid View

Auto Open/Refresh Pivots/Save/Close Excel files using VB

Hi all,
    I am new to VB - I have multiple spreadsheets which I open up weekly and refresh the pivots (connected to xl via Sql server). It very time consuming to open each one and do this. So I was wondering whether I can automate the open/refresh/save/close xl process.

I got some codes from different sites - but since I am not a developer I am not sure on whether it is proper. Can you guys please help me with it ?

Dim XLApp
    Dim XLWkb
    Set XLApp = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
    xlapp.visible = true
    xlapp.workbooks.open "C:\Users\x\Desktop\Diags Pivots\ExcelName.xlsx"

set wr = xlapp.workbooks.Open("C:\Users\x\Desktop\Diags Pivots\ExcelName.xlsx")
    wr.refreshall
    xlapp.visible = true
    wr.Save
    wr.Close
    wr.Quit

set wr = nothing
    set xlapp = nothing

This code opens and refreshes the excel - and even saves, but does nt close/exit the excel application.

Also, I want to simultaneouly perform this same operation on multiple xl files situated in different folders, and save each ones after each are refreshed and each xl file should close.

Can someone please pass on the code or "optimize" the code which I have pasted above ?

I also got this piece of code (which I did nt use, as not sure how to embed this with open etc. code sequence ) for refreshing pivots:

Private Sub Workbook_Open()
    MsgBox Date
    Dim shtTemp As Worksheet
    Dim pvtTable As PivotTable

For Each shtTemp In ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets
    For Each pvtTable In shtTemp.PivotTables
    pvtTable.RefreshTable
    Next
    Next
    End Sub

Should I use this or Refreshall will do all the needed xl refreshes ?

Looking for your response.

Thanks!

PowerPoster

Re: Auto Open/Refresh Pivots/Save/Close Excel files using VB

This code opens and refreshes the excel - and even saves, but does nt close/exit the excel application.