Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Insert into fails without error

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    400

    Insert into fails without error

    Hi All

    Ive had a couple of posts on this topic but i just cant find a solution. I have a pos system and at 1 or to clients when they are extremely busy they lose orders. I am using sql express 2008 and i can only attribute this data loss to how busy this client is, as the data is saved 95% of the time and then not, it is very erratic and im struggling to find a solution. The biggest problem is, is that the insert into statement fails but it fails without any error what so ever.So my biggest question is how do i trap or deal with an error that doesnt seem to exist ?

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    AJ

  2. #2
    I'm about to be a PowerPoster! Hack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Searching for mendhak
    Posts
    58,333

    Re: Insert into fails without error

    Are there any consistenys at all when this occurs, such as:

    Time of day
    Day of week
    Customer
    Another application running at the same time potentially taking away processing time

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    400

    Re: Insert into fails without error

    Hi Hack

    There does'nt seem to be any consistancy or pattern to these occurences at all, it's completely random. I have checked the server pc it is a dual core with over 3 gig Ram. There was an instance of sql express 2005 installed as well which has now been completely removed.Even uninstalled the anti virus as a test. But with the same results.

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    400

    Re: Insert into fails without error

    Just a thought, all the pos terminlas are using Panda antivirus ! I dont know this product at all and am wondering if this is not the source of all my headaches. has anyone used Panda before or know of any issues regarding this software that could cause any tcp/ip or winsock corruptions ?

    Thanks
    AJ

  5. #5
    Wall Poster TysonLPrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    3,835

    Re: Insert into fails without error

    Quote Originally Posted by alexanderjames View Post
    Hi All

    Ive had a couple of posts on this topic but i just cant find a solution. I have a pos system and at 1 or to clients when they are extremely busy they lose orders. I am using sql express 2008 and i can only attribute this data loss to how busy this client is, as the data is saved 95% of the time and then not, it is very erratic and im struggling to find a solution. The biggest problem is, is that the insert into statement fails but it fails without any error what so ever.So my biggest question is how do i trap or deal with an error that doesnt seem to exist ?

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    AJ
    I don't think I've ever seen an insert fail without an error. Is it possible it is just not being caught?

  6. #6
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Dunmow,Essex,England
    Posts
    898

    Re: Insert into fails without error

    Have you designed your SQL with try catch blocks.If the data is getting to the SP then it cannot be a firewall, or anti-virus issue unless this is looking for key words in data traffic to block and the data being sent happens to include some of those words to look for.

    With the SP's if you have try catch blocks send some deliberate error's to ensure the catch block works. if it does then I'd suggest in here you log the errors into another table if your not already. This WILL catch the errors if the sp is getting called correctly. secondly, if it happens frequently, you could run the sql profiler which might also give some indication.

  7. #7
    I'm about to be a PowerPoster! Hack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Searching for mendhak
    Posts
    58,333

    Re: Insert into fails without error

    Can you disable this Panda product for a while to see if it has any affect?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width