Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: how to create report without connection with database?

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    how to create report without connection with database?

    Hi

    how can i generate report without using database? becouse i work on a project and i want to print the report from some data entered by the user and from some calculation do by the program,so there is any way to print report with vs 2008 without using database??



    Thankyou

  2. #2
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Modesto, Ca.
    Posts
    5,195

    Re: how to create report without connection with database?

    Yes,

    You need to provide more information.
    What programming language?
    What reporting tool do you want to use?
    Will the data be in textboxes, grids, labels?

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Re: how to create report without connection with database?

    Quote Originally Posted by wes4dbt View Post
    Yes,

    You need to provide more information.
    What programming language?
    i use visual basic programming language

    What reporting tool do you want to use?
    from my search i know that i can use crystal report or report wizard but i don't know use which and how??

    Will the data be in textboxes, grids, labels?
    the data in the report will be take from radiobutton selected by the user,combobox and according that the program will do some calculation and the result will show in report. i want show data as tabular view
    thank you very much
    Last edited by cs student; Feb 9th, 2012 at 02:56 AM.

  4. #4
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Modesto, Ca.
    Posts
    5,195

    Re: how to create report without connection with database?

    i use visual basic programming language
    Which one? VB6, .Net 2010? There are lots of visual basics.

    If your using .Net 2005 and crystal reports, then you would add a report to the project and then add the textboxes to the report. You could enter the information into the textboxes like this,
    Code:
            Dim rpt as new yourreportname
            Dim objText As CrystalDecisions.CrystalReports.Engine.TextObject = _
                rpt.ReportDefinition.Sections(3).ReportObjects("textboxname")
            objText.Text = "some value"

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Re: how to create report without connection with database?

    Quote Originally Posted by wes4dbt View Post
    Which one? VB6, .Net 2010? There are lots of visual basics.

    If your using .Net 2005 and crystal reports, then you would add a report to the project and then add the textboxes to the report. You could enter the information into the textboxes like this,
    Code:
            Dim rpt as new yourreportname
            Dim objText As CrystalDecisions.CrystalReports.Engine.TextObject = _
                rpt.ReportDefinition.Sections(3).ReportObjects("textboxname")
            objText.Text = "some value"
    i use visual basic 2008
    can i use the datagrideview tool to represent my data?

  6. #6
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Modesto, Ca.
    Posts
    5,195

    Re: how to create report without connection with database?

    The code example I posted should work with the CR version that comes with .Net 2008.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width