which one is better for php?-VBForums
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: which one is better for php?

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    909

    which one is better for php?

    Hi, I'm going to start php with Apache, so should i use WAMP or install every item separately? which idea is better?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    13,621

    Re: which one is better for php?

    Install them separately. Follow my tutorials and you (probably) won't go wrong.

    Installing PHP 5.3 and Apache HTTP Server on Windows 7
    Installing MySQL Server 5.5 on Windows 7

  3. #3
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Godzone, oops Oz
    Posts
    355

    Re: which one is better for php?

    Penagate how did you overcome the php issue Apache seemed to have on Vista and above? - the one where things fell apart cos Apache didn't play nice from memory

    ADQUSIT we install wamp on all our development machines as it's pretty easy to setup and maintain, no doubt we are carrying some overhead somewhere but it all seems to work out of the box.
    http://www.scaryminds.com - Horror's last colonial outpost.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    13,621

    Re: which one is better for php?

    Quote Originally Posted by KiwiDexter View Post
    Penagate how did you overcome the php issue Apache seemed to have on Vista and above? - the one where things fell apart cos Apache didn't play nice from memory
    I use the VC9 builds from Apache Lounge because they work with the VC9 builds of PHP and so life is better in general, although I forget the specific issues that this solves.

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    909

    Re: which one is better for php?

    @ KiwiDexter

    I have used the WAMP some 3 YEARS ago, and our teacher told us that time that in WAMP, things are all configured, just need to be used while in separate separate way, you'll have to configure, apache, php and windows 7 by yourself manually. So we used then WAMP.

    @ Penagate

    Please tell me that what type of problem, is discussed by Dexter, about vista and above?

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    13,621

    Re: which one is better for php?

    I originally wrote those tutorials because you asked me to about 8 months ago. Did you have some trouble installing the software then?

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    909

    Re: which one is better for php?

    Penagate, i do remember that i told you that time and you did the same. Now i am thinking one thing that i have worked previously in WAMP, so will these separate entities will work the same as WAMP does?

  8. #8
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Godzone, oops Oz
    Posts
    355

    Re: which one is better for php?

    Quote Originally Posted by penagate View Post
    I use the VC9 builds from Apache Lounge because they work with the VC9 builds of PHP and so life is better in general, although I forget the specific issues that this solves.
    Cheers penagate That resolves a number of things for me

    @ADQUSIT, we still find we need to modify wamp installs, web directory locations, various other tweaking depending on what products we are running on the individual server. From memory made the same mods when we separately installed the products on XP or prior.
    http://www.scaryminds.com - Horror's last colonial outpost.

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    909

    Re: which one is better for php?

    So Kiwi, do you also recommend now to use php apache and my sql separate separate?

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    909

    Re: which one is better for php?

    @ Penagate
    I'm gonna install all these (php, apache, my sql) things on my laptop, having windows Vista, will it work properly there on Vista or some changes need to make?

  11. #11
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Godzone, oops Oz
    Posts
    355

    Re: which one is better for php?

    Quote Originally Posted by ADQUSIT View Post
    So Kiwi, do you also recommend now to use php apache and my sql separate separate?
    Depends on your knowledge. We still use wamp, as it's quick and simple, but only went in that direction when php wouldn't fire on Vista. Clearly php can work on Vista as wamp had no issues.

    From a purist perspective probably better to labour through the individual installs, but we aren't that concerned.
    http://www.scaryminds.com - Horror's last colonial outpost.

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    909

    Re: which one is better for php?

    @ Kiwi

    Depends on your knowledge. We still use wamp, as it's quick and simple, but only went in that direction when php wouldn't fire on Vista. Clearly php can work on Vista as wamp had no issues.

    and

    You said in your POst # 8 that:

    we still find we need to modify wamp installs, web directory locations, various other tweaking depending on what products we are running on the individual server. From memory made the same mods when we separately installed the products on XP or prior
    Why you need to modify these things?

  13. #13

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    909

    Re: which one is better for php?

    Well, i finally used WAMP, but having problem now, which are unsolved yet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.