HTML locked popup-VBForums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: HTML locked popup

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    93

    HTML locked popup

    Hello,

    I use vba to scrub data from a specific website. I've been using javascript to interact with most of the site however I have run into a problem.

    One of the sites has a popup with a locked addressbar and I can't figure out how to 'inject' my code in order to grab variable data. Ideally I want to change the variables within the pop up window.

    The main proplem I am having is that the pop up loads with a locked addressbar. I believe it has to do with the function which calls the pop up:


    Code:
    function launchFeatures(a, b, c, d, e, f, g, h)
    {
       var m,u;
       var tn =  document.test.subservtn[i].value;
       if ( tn == null || tn == "" ) 
       {
          alert ("test")    
          return false;
        }
       
       u = "./feature.jsp?subidx=" + a + "&a=" + b + "&b=" + c + "&c=" + d + "&d=" + e + "&e=" + f + "&f=" + g + "&g=" + h;
       openBrWindow(u,'locked','scrollbars=1,resizable=1');     
       return true;
    }
    The funtion which opens the child window is openBrwindow and as you can see it launching in the locked state. I have tried running openbrwindow('google.com') and it still launches a new window with a locked address bar.

    This is a jsp site so from what I understand that function will only return a locked window state. Is there any way for me to manipulate and/or read the code from this child window? Any help would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    994

    Re: HTML locked popup

    Mozilla Firefox can disable some pop-up features..

    http://www.firefoxfacts.com/2008/02/...up-annoyances/

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    93

    Re: HTML locked popup

    The site only runs in ie...

  4. #4
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    994

    Re: HTML locked popup

    then get an extension that changes the user agent, and modify it to IE.

  5. #5
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    1,504

    Re: HTML locked popup

    Mozilla Firefox can disable some pop-up features..

    http://www.firefoxfacts.com/2008/02/...up-annoyances/
    This has nothing to do with the problem.

    Your question doesn't make complete sense to me. Sounds like you should just copy and paste the URL of the child window into a new browser window/tab.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    93

    Re: HTML locked popup

    I can copy into another browser window but it breaks the link with the parent window. Basically, the pop up has a bunch of settings which the user can apply and then go to the parent window to update the change.

    If I open in a new window I can get read access and view the settings, which is nice, but I'd like to be able to modify the settings as well.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    13,621

    Re: HTML locked popup

    Use a newer version of IE — from version 7 onwards the location bar cannot be hidden.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.