Thread: vb variable types

vb variable types

Hi,

I am just getting into VB6 and having a go at .net.As with all programming langs there are a list of variable types.To date I am familiar with types such as INT,VAR,STRING and the like.
    To declare these variables I use the DIM as[vartype]
    HoHi,
    http://www.vbexplorer.com/VBExplorer...er_ADO_DAO.asp

and she mentions other variable types i.e

Dim ws as Workspace
    Dim db as Database

This has confused me a bit.I can understand placing a database into an array,but the array will already have been declared,and what does Workspace mean.Is there a whole series of variable types that I have missed out on,or do these variable types belong to a sub-technology of vb6.

Hope this makes sense
    Regards
    Richard

VB6, XHTML & CSS hobbyist Merri's Avatar

Re: vb variable types

They don't belong to VB6 as they are, instead both Workspace & Database are objects that come outside VB6. To use these they require that a specific reference (DLL, TLB, OLB) or control (OCX or DLL) is included to a project. There are also TLB reference files that can provide an interface to Windows API functions.

So, you include a custom control or reference into a project that provide a compatible interface and then you can use them from VB6 as if they were part of the language.

You can use Object Browser (View > Object Browser, or press F2) to see all the defined interfaces (objects, methods etc.) you can currently use. These include many VB6 built-in features, but you can also select a specific referenced file to see what it has.
    Last edited by Merri; Feb 12th, 2011 at 05:32 AM.

Hi there Merri,
    Thankyou for that answer that has cleared things up.

Kind Regards
    Jim

Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar