Thread: Picclp32.ocx error with windows 7/vista

Hybrid View

Picclp32.ocx error with windows 7/vista

Anyone here know how to resolve this error? In accordance with the KB article published by Microsoft, it is claimed the PICCLP32.OCX is supported by both Windows 7 and VISTA. You are instructed to distribute the OCX with your setup program, which I have been doing. I have been using the PDW for the past 10 years, and this has NEVER been an issue. Now, with 7/VISTA this OCX is failing to register. I have even instructed my customers to manually using REGSVR to correct the issue and that too does not work. They are even disabling UAC and "run as administrator" blah, blah, blah. All to no avail. Anyone here know the solution? It is really beginning to impact my revenue and trust in my product is starting to diminish. I really need some help and Microsoft is completely unresponsive on the issue. I have received nothing but canned email responses that led me here; without a real choice in the matter.

I am using VB6 SP6. Thanks...anyone?
    Last edited by si_the_geek; Feb 10th, 2011 at 05:08 AM. Reason: removed "advertising" link

Only Slightly Obsessive jemidiah's Avatar

Re: Picclp32.ocx error with windows 7/vista

On 64 bit Windows Vista or 7 machines, 32 bit binaries should be placed in Windows\SysWOW64 instead of Windows\system32. There are also two versions of regsvr32, one in system32 (the 64 bit version) and one in SysWOW64 (the 32 bit version). One other thing to keep in mind is that the file system redirects these locations sometimes.

PICCLP32.OCX is apparently correctly registered on this machine (Vista, 64 bit) and resides in SysWOW64. Hopefully your issue is just using the wrong directory/regsvr32. I've never used the P&D wizard, so I can't comment on it specifically.
    The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    Bertrand Russell

<- Remember to rate posts you find helpful.

PowerPoster