Thread: [WPF] 3D Orbit camera with 'infinite' mouse movement

Hybrid View

PowerPoster

[WPF] 3D Orbit camera with 'infinite' mouse movement

Hi,

First of all, I couldn't find a codebank forum dedicated to WPF so I posted it in C# instead (since the code is C#). If that's not right, feel free to move it.

I am completely new to WPF so if there are some things wrong with my submission, let me know

Anyway, my first ever WPF project has to include a small simple 3D scene where the user can orbit around using his mouse. I couldn't find many examples on controlling the camera with the mouse, and the ones that I could find offered camera rotation in 3 directions: pitch, yaw and roll. I didn't want my camera to roll, I merely wanted pitch and yaw (and the possibility to zoom), so with the help of jemidiah I pieced together something that works quite well, and decided to submit it here so others can use it or learn how to do it.

So this is a control that you can load some 3d models into and you can use the mouse (by holding the right mouse button) to hover around them. You cannot 'move', and the camera always points toward the middle of the scene, but you can rotate around the scene and look at it from all sides.
    You can also zoom via the scroll wheel.

Additionally, your mouse movement is not restrained to the viewport window only. When you hold down the right button, your mouse cursor is hidden and you can move your mouse as far as you want, or at least until you run out of desktop space or get dizzy

Finally you can change the zoom and the pitch and yaw (rotation) via code too, via the Zoom, Pitch and Yaw methods.

Oh yeah, to load a model I added an AddModel method that accepts a Model3D object, as that is all I will need, but you might want to expose the entire Viewport3D object so that you can also add lights, etc, since I just left those in from an example I used.