Thread: [RESOLVED] Call a function in one form from another

Hyperactive Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] Call a function in one form from another

Hi everyone,

I'm still a noob at WPF and i'm trying to stop thinking in WinForms mode....I have a function in a WPF app on a form called 'loginform2'. The function is as follows in loginform2.xaml.vb:

Code:
    Public Function showlogin() As String
            showlogin = Trim(firstname.ToUpper) + " " + Trim(lastname.ToUpper)
    End Function
    i would like to get the value of showlogin() by calling it from my main form, in this case, mainwindow.xaml.vb

In winforms fashion (using wpf syntax for the label) if i were to plug the value into a label i would simply call the following from mainwindow:

Code:
    label1.content = loginform2.showlogin

if it were winforms the code would be:

Code:
    label1.text = loginform2.showlogin
    but intellisense is not showing the showlogin function and when i override it and type it in anyway I get "Reference to a non-shared member requires an object reference".

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks again everyone.

Re: Call a function in one form from another

The loginform2 doesn't exist in mainwindow.xaml.vb. The fact the it is in vb.Net is a "stupid/ugly" thing in vb.Net-Forms. You should create a seperate class with properties like FirstName, LastName, .... And a methode called GetLogin (showlogin is wrong, it doesn't show anything).
    VB6 & C# (WCF LINQ) mostly

If you need help with a WPF/WCF question post in the NEW WPF & WCF forum and we will try help the best we can

My site

My blog, couding troubles and solutions

Free online tools

Hyperactive Member