Thread: [RESOLVED] Database Software Advice Needed

Lively Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] Database Software Advice Needed

Hi All,

One of my program databases is a proprietary web-based database written in C#. I'm in the process of researching alternatives. I think a database that I can build myself would be preferred. Then I could do free customizations and maintainance very specific to my needs.

I'm quite adept with Access, but I don't think that would work in this case. Multiple users need to be able to enter data at the same time across a network. I've tried to do this with Access before and it slows things down like you wouldn't believe.

Would anyone have a suggestion as to what type of software I could use to build a database that would be secure, user friendly and able to have data entered by multiple users at the same time? I have very little experience with building databases outside of Access, so I'm not sure where to even begin. Any advice would be most welcome. Thank you!

Discovering Life Siddharth Rout's Avatar

Re: Database Software Advice Needed

I still use access database as backend for a small intranet application that I have made from my office(100-120 users). To my surprise, it is pretty fast.

I am sure you already know but few things that you have to ensure in such scenarios...

1) You should close the table the moment your work is done with it.
    2) Avoid opening the DB in a loop.
    3) Avoid using Access Forms as a front end. Either use VB6/VB.NET in case you are making windows based applications...

Still if the above doesn't help then I would advice you to switch over to SQL
    A good exercise for the Heart is to bend down and help another up...
    Please Mark your Thread "Resolved", if the query is solved

MyGear:
    ★ CPU ★ Ryzen 5 5800X
    ★ GPU ★ NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 TI Founder Edition
    ★ RAM ★ G. Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB 3600MHz
    ★ MB ★ ASUS TUF GAMING X570 (WI-FI) ATX Gaming