Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Clipboard to full

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    80

    Clipboard to full

    I know where in my script my clipboard fills up and i put in a clipboard clear but I still get an system message saying my clipboard is to full and asks if i want to keep or remove the data. Is there somewhere i can set the size of the clipboard a little larger.

  2. #2
    Discovering Life Siddharth Rout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    12,001

    Re: Clipboard to full

    Are you copying anything back to clipboard after Clipboard.Clear
    A good exercise for the Heart is to bend down and help another up...
    Please Mark your Thread "Resolved", if the query is solved


    MyGear:
    ★ CPU ★ Ryzen 5 5800X
    ★ GPU ★ NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 TI Founder Edition
    ★ RAM ★ G. Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB 3600MHz
    ★ MB ★ ASUS TUF GAMING X570 (WI-FI) ATX Gaming
    ★ Storage ★ SSD SB-ROCKET-1TB + SEAGATE 2TB Barracuda IHD
    ★ Cooling ★ NOCTUA NH-D15 CHROMAX BLACK 140mm + 10 of Noctua NF-F12 PWM
    ★ PSU ★ ANTEC HCG-1000-EXTREME 1000 Watt 80 Plus Gold Fully Modular PSU
    ★ Case ★ LIAN LI PC-O11 DYNAMIC XL ROG (BLACK) (G99.O11DXL-X)
    ★ Monitor ★ LG Ultragear 27" 240Hz Gaming Monitor
    ★ Keyboard ★ TVS Electronics Gold Keyboard
    ★ Mouse ★ Logitech G502 Hero

  3. #3
    I'm about to be a PowerPoster! Hack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Searching for mendhak
    Posts
    58,333

    Re: Clipboard to full

    I have never seen a message like that.

    Could you post a screen shot?

  4. #4
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25,618

    Re: Clipboard to full

    show the code where you are getting the problem
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

    dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part

    come back and mark your original post as resolved if your problem is fixed
    pete

  5. #5
    Fanatic Member FireXtol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    874

    Re: Clipboard to full

    How much data are you trying to put in the clipboard?

    I tried 128 MB, but VB told me it was out of string space!

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    80

    Re: Clipboard to full

    I'm copying a excel sheet. I'm not sure the size of the sheet it's self, but there is only 10 lines in it so it can't be that big. I did read somewhere the size of the clipboard is dependent on the memory in your computer. I'm on an older computer with 512 meg of ram. My hard drive is getting close to full. I think that might be my problem. I will know better when I run the program on another system when it's done.

  7. #7
    Next Of Kin baja_yu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    /dev/root
    Posts
    5,989

    Re: Clipboard to full

    Could you post the screen shot of the message you get, or at least exact text of the message?

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    80

    Re: Clipboard to full

    Here is a screen shot. Sorry it took so long i had other issues to deal with. Now I seriously need help with this problem. How can I disable this message.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  9. #9
    Next Of Kin baja_yu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    /dev/root
    Posts
    5,989

    Re: Clipboard to full

    Actually, that message doesn't say that the clipboard is full. It simply says that there is data in it, and it is asking you if you want it saved there after Excel exits or should Excel clear the contents.

  10. #10
    Smooth Moperator techgnome's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    34,537

    Re: Clipboard to full

    That's Excel asking you... and it's not because you're running out of resources... but rather because what you do have consumes a lot. So when Excel (and Word and Access and Visio and most other Office apps do this too) closes, it is asking if you want to keep the clipboard data so you can paste it else where, or are you done with it, in which case ti will clear the clipboard for you.

    -tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

  11. #11
    Next Of Kin baja_yu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    /dev/root
    Posts
    5,989

    Re: Clipboard to full

    Maybe the solution would be to clear the clipboard before you exit Excel.

  12. #12
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25,618

    Re: Clipboard to full

    as it is an excel alert, you should be able to prevent it by setting the displayalerts of the excel object to false
    application.displayalerts = false
    change application to you excel object, make sure not to conceal any alerts you still want
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

    dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part

    come back and mark your original post as resolved if your problem is fixed
    pete

  13. #13

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    80

    Re: Clipboard to full

    the clipboard clear worked. I had that already in the program but I put it in after Excel closed. When I moved it to the line before Excel closed the problem was gone. Thank you for your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width