Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: *NEW* Process Manager

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    19

    *NEW* Process Manager

    This is my process manager i made up * Wow * .. Umm I have been working on this for a while. and I finally got it to be pretty decent
    Just want to share what i make and stuff, to make people better, and make new ideas )

    Virus Scan:

    http://www.virustotal.com/analisis/7...cf2-1272909021

    ScreenShot:


    UPDATED WINDOWS7/VISTA FIX AND ADDED DUAL CORE READINGS
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Cave; May 14th, 2010 at 07:01 PM.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    i cant get the file to download
    Last edited by SuperJohn; May 3rd, 2010 at 03:20 PM.

  3. #3
    Wait... what? weirddemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,828

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    I'm not able to download your project. You should check the link.

    Also, you should check out my process manager and you'll find a lot information on different features you can add such as icons, process info, pausing and resuming, and much more.
    CodeBank contributions: Process Manager, Temp File Cleaner

    Quote Originally Posted by SJWhiteley
    "game trainer" is the same as calling the act of robbing a bank "wealth redistribution"....

  4. #4
    Pro Grammar chris128's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,604

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    I dont understand what the Initialized column is for as it just shows a number for some processes but a date for others, same for the ID column as that does not have a value for most of the processes.

    PS did you know you can upload files directly to this forum so you dont have to use an external hosting site?
    My free .NET Windows API library (Version 2.2 Released 12/06/2011)

    Blog: cjwdev.wordpress.com
    Web: www.cjwdev.co.uk


  5. #5
    Wait... what? weirddemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,828

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by chris128 View Post
    I dont understand what the Initialized column is for as it just shows a number for some processes but a date for others, same for the ID column as that does not have a value for most of the processes.

    PS did you know you can upload files directly to this forum so you dont have to use an external hosting site?
    You were able to download it? Hm... :/

    Oh. You just mean from the visual.

    Yeah. That's strange.
    Last edited by weirddemon; May 3rd, 2010 at 03:38 PM.
    CodeBank contributions: Process Manager, Temp File Cleaner

    Quote Originally Posted by SJWhiteley
    "game trainer" is the same as calling the act of robbing a bank "wealth redistribution"....

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    19

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    Thanks guys, Umm ID etc. i just some controls i came across when i made this and decided to add. Umm Demon, Can you give me a link to yours, and I will reupload

  7. #7
    Pro Grammar chris128's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,604

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    My free .NET Windows API library (Version 2.2 Released 12/06/2011)

    Blog: cjwdev.wordpress.com
    Web: www.cjwdev.co.uk


  8. #8
    PowerPoster JuggaloBrotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Lansing, MI; USA
    Posts
    4,286

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    I like the cpu progressbar at the bottom, but what about multi-core cpu's (or systems with more than 1 physical cpu, multi-core or not)? It'd be awesome if it showed one for each core/cpu
    Currently using VS 2015 Enterprise on Win10 Enterprise x64.

    CodeBank: All Threads • Colors ComboBox • Fading & Gradient Form • MoveItemListBox/MoveItemListView • MultilineListBox • MenuButton • ToolStripCheckBox • Start with Windows

  9. #9
    Wait... what? weirddemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,828

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by JuggaloBrotha View Post
    I like the cpu progressbar at the bottom, but what about multi-core cpu's (or systems with more than 1 physical cpu, multi-core or not)? It'd be awesome if it showed one for each core/cpu
    He'd probably have to utilize some APIs for that. I don't think there's a managed way to obtain that information for multiple cores.

    That CPU progressbar, I think, get's overall usage. He could maybe use Performance counters.
    CodeBank contributions: Process Manager, Temp File Cleaner

    Quote Originally Posted by SJWhiteley
    "game trainer" is the same as calling the act of robbing a bank "wealth redistribution"....

  10. #10
    PowerPoster JuggaloBrotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Lansing, MI; USA
    Posts
    4,286

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    I dunno how hard it is, I've seen it in other apps but I don't know if those other apps are managed code or not...
    Currently using VS 2015 Enterprise on Win10 Enterprise x64.

    CodeBank: All Threads • Colors ComboBox • Fading & Gradient Form • MoveItemListBox/MoveItemListView • MultilineListBox • MenuButton • ToolStripCheckBox • Start with Windows

  11. #11
    Pro Grammar chris128's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,604

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    I was curious so had a go at using performance counters to track each CPU/Core and came up with the following (run from a timer)

    vb Code:
    1. Dim Counters As New PerformanceCounter("Processor", "% Processor Time")
    2. For i As Integer = 0 To Environment.ProcessorCount - 1
    3.       Counters.InstanceName = i
    4.       DirectCast(Me.Controls("CpuProgressBar" & i + 1), ProgressBar).Value = Counters.NextValue
    5. Next
    of course this assumes that you have already added a progress bar for each CPU/Core and named it "CpuProgressBarX" where X is the number of the CPU/Core starting at 1.

    However! This does not seem to work... the value that the performance counter returns is always 0 or 0.0394948 or something like that, even though that is the exact same performance counter that I can add to Perfmon and it shows the correct readings. So I'm a bit stumped!
    My free .NET Windows API library (Version 2.2 Released 12/06/2011)

    Blog: cjwdev.wordpress.com
    Web: www.cjwdev.co.uk


  12. #12
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    64

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    I had the same thing, but found a way that worked for me by using a single rather than integer, Integers cannot do floating point numbers
    vb Code:
    1. Dim v As Single
    2. v = Cpu1performanceCounter1.NextValue()
    3.         Cpu1progressbar.Value = CInt(v)
    4. lblCpu1.Text = "CPU 01 - Usage: " & Convert.ToInt32(v).ToString & "%"
    Last edited by BobbyP; May 4th, 2010 at 10:36 AM.

  13. #13

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    19

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    I know a full working way to do this, I will release it in a bit thanks.

  14. #14

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    19

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    *DOUBLE POST* SORRY!

    Updated it check new download

  15. #15
    Wait... what? weirddemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,828

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    What about quad core PCs? And how do you compensate for multi-thread processors that show up as double the original cores?
    CodeBank contributions: Process Manager, Temp File Cleaner

    Quote Originally Posted by SJWhiteley
    "game trainer" is the same as calling the act of robbing a bank "wealth redistribution"....

  16. #16

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    19

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    Not sure, stop working on this though. I just started 2 weeks or so ago haha, Thinking of something to make atm, simple.

  17. #17
    Wait... what? weirddemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,828

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by Cave View Post
    Not sure, stop working on this though. I just started 2 weeks or so ago haha, Thinking of something to make atm, simple.
    Err... but this is simple. It's 60 lines of code. It doesn't get much simpler than this.

    I only mentioned the quad core thing because your application is fixed for only operating dual core processors =/
    CodeBank contributions: Process Manager, Temp File Cleaner

    Quote Originally Posted by SJWhiteley
    "game trainer" is the same as calling the act of robbing a bank "wealth redistribution"....

  18. #18

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    19

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    Well, I could make it have like options, to select what you have, and I am not sure about quad, There is only 1 and 0 for the performance manager = /. Yeah 60 lines of code, but still. I am just new, i just have to MSDN alot of functions some times to learn them, I mean just have to take it slow.

  19. #19
    Wait... what? weirddemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,828

    Re: *NEW* Process Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by Cave View Post
    Well, I could make it have like options, to select what you have, and I am not sure about quad, There is only 1 and 0 for the performance manager = /. Yeah 60 lines of code, but still. I am just new, i just have to MSDN alot of functions some times to learn them, I mean just have to take it slow.
    Of course, of course. If you haven't taken a look at the code for my process manager, I implore you to check it out.

    It doesn't have any CPU features at the moment, but I think you can learn a lot about the processes, modules, and a ton of other functions that will help you out in other projects.

    CodeBank contributions: Process Manager, Temp File Cleaner

    Quote Originally Posted by SJWhiteley
    "game trainer" is the same as calling the act of robbing a bank "wealth redistribution"....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width