Thread: [RESOLVED] XML page cannot be displayed. Cannot view XML input using style sheet.

Resolved [RESOLVED] XML page cannot be displayed. Cannot view XML input using style sheet.

I'm new to XML. If I try to view an XML file that is on my website or on my computer drive I see this :

The XML page cannot be displayed

Cannot view XML input using XSL style sheet. Please correct the error and then click the Refresh button, or try again later.

If I try to change Style under Page in IE8 I just have two options. Default Style is selected and the other option is No Style. Selecting No Style doesn't do anything. Not sure of how much of a problem this is because when I viewing an XML file on my computer I see the contents of the file.
    Make as many mistakes as you can as quickly as you can. We want to make sure that we make a great enough number of mistakes in a given amount of time so that we can be successful.

"Persistence is the magic of success." Paramahansa Yogananda

PowerPoster

Re: XML page cannot be displayed. Cannot view XML input using style sheet.

could you post the contents of the XML file? which browser are you using?

I had FireFox on Vista but have been working in Windows 7. I just installed FireFox in Windows 7 and if I view the XML file from that I don't see the error that I saw in IE8. This is what I do see from FireFox.

Code:

XML Parsing Error: syntax error
    Location: file:///K:/Users/Paul/Documents/XML%20Files/Test%20File.xml
    Line Number 1, Column 1:

This is to test.
    ^
    That's an XML file that I created myself using this code but maybe I should do something differently.

Code:
         Dim PerScrnsData As StreamWriter
            PerScrnsData = New StreamWriter(PathToXMLFile, False, Encoding.Unicode) '
            StringForXMLFile = "This is to test."
            PerScrnsData.Write(StringForXMLFile)
            PerScrnsData.Close()