Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: manifest files

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    near Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    33

    manifest files

    Hi all,

    I'm having some trouble with manifest files.
    On Vista everything works fine if I add the well know initialization function to the VB app en then place <exename>.exe.manifest file with this content in the same dir as the exe file itself:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
    <assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1" manifestVersion="1.0"> 
    <assemblyIdentity 
        version="1.0.0.0" 
        processorArchitecture="X86" 
        name="transavia.com.dispatcher.dispatcher"
        type="win32" 
    /> 
    <description>transavia.com dispatch manager</description> 
    <dependency> 
        <dependentAssembly> 
            <assemblyIdentity 
                type="win32" 
                name="Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls" 
                version="6.0.0.0" 
                processorArchitecture="X86" 
                publicKeyToken="6595b64144ccf1df" 
                language="*" 
            /> 
        </dependentAssembly> 
    </dependency> 
    </assembly>
    There are two problems:
    1. On Windows XP computers all background values of all objects seem to get black, resulting in unreadable radio buttons.
    2. On some computers the exe won't even startup, users only head a sound heard when something fails, removing the manifest file helps to solve it.

    Does anyone know solutions to one of these (or both ) problems?

    Greetings,
    Jasper

  2. #2
    Frenzied Member some1uk03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,664

    Re: manifest files

    This has been discussed hundreds of times... you might wanna give the forum a lil search on manifest files.. I'm sure you'll find a solution.
    _____________________________________________________________________

    ----If this post has helped you. Please take time to Rate it.
    ----If you've solved your problem, then please mark it as RESOLVED from Thread Tools.



  3. #3
    PowerPoster isnoend07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,237

    Re: manifest files

    i had some problems with a manifest and the fix was to do this:
    remove the standalone="yes"?>
    Only other difference i see is <description>Executable</description>

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1" manifestVersion="1.0">
        <assemblyIdentity 
            version="1.0.0.0" 
            processorArchitecture="X86" 
            name="MyCompany.My AppTitle"
            type="win32" />
        <description>Executable</description>
        <dependency>
            <dependentAssembly>
                <assemblyIdentity 
                    type="win32" 
                    name="Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls" 
                    version="6.0.0.0" 
                    processorArchitecture="X86" 
                    publicKeyToken="6595b64144ccf1df" 
                    language="*" />
            </dependentAssembly>
        </dependency>   
    </assembly>
    Have had no problem on xp,vista and win 7
    Waiting for a full featured smart phone with out marrying a provider
    Go Android
    Go raiders

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    near Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    33

    Re: manifest files

    Thanks mate, I'll give it a try

  5. #5
    Addicted Member reacen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    c:\windows\system32\gdi32.dll
    Posts
    243

    Re: manifest files

    Did you try to initialize it on a Sub Main() ? With "on error resume next" ? Im not sure if its gonna help, just a thought.
    DoEvents

  6. #6
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25,618

    Re: manifest files

    put radio buttons in pcturebox as container instead of frame
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

    dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part

    come back and mark your original post as resolved if your problem is fixed
    pete

  7. #7
    PowerPoster isnoend07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,237

    Re: manifest files

    Quote Originally Posted by jasperblij View Post
    Thanks mate, I'll give it a try
    As westconn1 stated put radio buttons in pcturebox is a must. If you wanted to keep the frame then put a borderless picturebox inside the frame containing the radio buttons. I have this method throughout my app.
    Waiting for a full featured smart phone with out marrying a provider
    Go Android
    Go raiders

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    near Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    33

    Re: manifest files

    Quote Originally Posted by isnoend07 View Post
    As westconn1 stated put radio buttons in pcturebox is a must. If you wanted to keep the frame then put a borderless picturebox inside the frame containing the radio buttons. I have this method throughout my app.
    Why is that?

  9. #9
    PowerPoster isnoend07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,237

    Re: manifest files

    Quote Originally Posted by jasperblij View Post
    Why is that?
    Don't know why, maybe just a bug with xp. When i was using win2k it did not have the problem of course didn't need a manifest, but i switched my app to xp
    and provided a manifest everyone of my Radio buttons were black and had to be put in a picturebox
    Waiting for a full featured smart phone with out marrying a provider
    Go Android
    Go raiders

  10. #10
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    24,482

    Re: manifest files

    It is more of an issue with the way some VB6 controls are constructed. They can't pick up the theming alone or something, yet by putting them into some types of containers the problem goes away.

    I can't recall any alternative work-around.

  11. #11
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    182

    Re: manifest files

    This is all explained in this threed which show that instead of using a picturebox you can subclass the frame. Now why on earth would I like to do that? Because frames are "windowless" while pictureboxes are heavier and add much more overhead to your app.

    All credit goes to LaVolpe, I just pasting the url ;-)

  12. #12
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    24,482

    Re: manifest files

    I agree, windowless containers are the problem.

    However subclassing is generally more work and just produces more risks such as potential IDE crashes. There are "safe" subclassing methods but they are even more work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width