Thread: [RESOLVED] Webbrowser & Key strokes

Lively Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] Webbrowser & Key strokes

I have been attempting to automate a process in a webbrowser control. When I attempt to fill out the form and submit, I get a false negative response (meaning all the data in the fields are correct but I am getting an incorrect response back from what I should be getting). I have determined that this problem is due to the fact that when I manually type out the data in the input fields a javascript is being fired. I know that you are able to invoke the javascript, but as I have no real knowledge about javascript and the script is rather complex I am stuck.

A temporary solution for me has been to use SendKeys, but this is no real solution at all. If the window loses focus, the entire process goes out the window. I cannot just use the .SetAttribute or .InnerText methods for the elements in the window.

I'm not sure if any of you are familiar with WatiN but I have used it recently while looking for other means to do what I need to do here. Watin works, but instead of allowing me to use an embedded browser object it shells new browser windows. Anyhow, with WatiN I am able to minimize or hide the browser window and the code will still execute. This leads me to believe that there is a way to simulate keypress events in a browser window while making sure that the specific element is the active element.

I have searched all over the internet for this (but am sure I overlooked a few things in frustration) and have yet to find a solution that works for me. If anyone has any information it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Lively Member

Re: Webbrowser & Key strokes

no one huh?

Lively Member

Re: Webbrowser & Key strokes

nevermind... i found a fanastic solution. if anyone is looking for something similar message me.

Re: [RESOLVED] Webbrowser & Key strokes