Run Time Error '3265' - Item not found in this collection ?-VBForums
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Run Time Error '3265' - Item not found in this collection ?

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    874

    Run Time Error '3265' - Item not found in this collection ?

    Hi guys, Really confused right now i have used the following code in my project

    Code:
    App.TaskVisible = False
    Dim db As Database
    Dim rs As Recordset
    Dim WS As Workspace
    
    Set WS = DBEngine.Workspaces(0)
        dbfile = (App.Path & "\donotdelete.mdb")
        pwdstring = "passwordhere"
    Set db = DBEngine.OpenDatabase(dbfile, False, False, ";PWD=" & pwdstring)
    Set rs = db.OpenRecordset("Other", dbOpenTable)
    
    YourUserName.Text = rs("twitteruser")
    yourpassword.Text = rs("twitterpass")
    and when i run it on my machine it diplays the stuff from the tables twitteruser and twitter pass in the 2 text boxes. How ever my friend installed my app and its giving him the error Run Time Error '3265' - Item not found in this collection ?


    the above code is in form load!

    Does anyone know why it's doing that?

    Thanks , Happy New Year.

  2. #2
    VBaholic & Loving It LaVolpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    GetWindowRect()
    Posts
    12,186

    Re: Run Time Error '3265' - Item not found in this collection ?

    How did you pass your app to your friend? As the app's Exe or via a Setup.exe file? If not as a setup, then do that so that all your project's references can be installed on your friend's pc, as needed.
    Insomnia is just a byproduct of, "It can't be done"

    Newbie? Novice? Bored? Spend a few minutes browsing the FAQ section of the forum.
    Read the HitchHiker's Guide to Getting Help on the Forums.
    Here is the list of TAGs you can use to format your posts
    Here are VB6 Help Files online


    {Alpha Image Control} {Memory Leak FAQ} {GDI+ Classes/Samples} {Unicode Open/Save Dialog} {Icon Organizer/Extractor}
    {VBA Control Arrays} {XP/Vista Manifest Creator} {UserControl Button Template} {stdPicture Render Usage}

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    874

    Re: Run Time Error '3265' - Item not found in this collection ?

    Hiya! Yeah i did compile it as a setup .exe file

    Thanks

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    874

    Re: Run Time Error '3265' - Item not found in this collection ?

    Please can someone help me with this? I need to release my software soon but this run time error is stopping me.

    I know it's only something to do with this part

    Code:
    YourUserName.Text = rs("twitteruser")
    yourpassword.Text = rs("twitterpass")
    Because im using the other code for other parts of the project but
    YourUserName.Text = rs("twitteruser")
    yourpassword.Text = rs("twitterpass")

    is whats making them have the run time error


    thanks

  5. #5
    Freelancer akhileshbc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Trivandrum, Kerala, India
    Posts
    7,573

    Re: Run Time Error '3265' - Item not found in this collection ?

    Try this:
    Code:
    YourUserName.Text = rs.Fields("twitteruser")
    yourpassword.Text = rs.Fields("twitterpass")
    If it is not working, then please post the error details...

    If my post was helpful to you, then express your gratitude using Rate this Post.
    And if your problem is SOLVED, then please Mark the Thread as RESOLVED (see it in action - video)
    My system: AMD FX 6100, Gigabyte Motherboard, 8 GB Crossair Vengance, Cooler Master 450W Thunder PSU, 1.4 TB HDD, 18.5" TFT(Wide), Antec V1 Cabinet

    Social Group: VBForums - Developers from India

    Skills: PHP, MySQL, jQuery, VB.Net, VB6, Photoshop...

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    874

    Re: Run Time Error '3265' - Item not found in this collection ?

    hiya! thanks how ever it says variable not defined and highlights

    "yourusername" and "yourpassword" Which are text boxes


    thanks!

  7. #7
    Freelancer akhileshbc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Trivandrum, Kerala, India
    Posts
    7,573

    Re: Run Time Error '3265' - Item not found in this collection ?

    Do you have a textbox with that name...?? Check the spelling...

    If my post was helpful to you, then express your gratitude using Rate this Post.
    And if your problem is SOLVED, then please Mark the Thread as RESOLVED (see it in action - video)
    My system: AMD FX 6100, Gigabyte Motherboard, 8 GB Crossair Vengance, Cooler Master 450W Thunder PSU, 1.4 TB HDD, 18.5" TFT(Wide), Antec V1 Cabinet

    Social Group: VBForums - Developers from India

    Skills: PHP, MySQL, jQuery, VB.Net, VB6, Photoshop...

  8. #8
    Super Moderator si_the_geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    37,158

    Re: Run Time Error '3265' - Item not found in this collection ?

    Thread moved to 'Database Development' forum (the 'VB6' forum is only meant for questions which don't fit in more specific forums)


    What version of Windows does your friend have? If it is a 64-bit one, you should expect this kind of issue and more - because DAO is far beyond unsupported (it became officially "obsolete" years ago). The solution is to move forward to 1998 (when VB6 was released), and use ADO instead.

    Are you sure you gave the correct copy of the database? (check it has a table called Other,with fields called twitteruser and twitterpass)

    What did you install in terms of DAO and Jet?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.