[RESOLVED] Directly applying license for TrueDBGrid version 5....-VBForums
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [RESOLVED] Directly applying license for TrueDBGrid version 5....

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    242

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Directly applying license for TrueDBGrid version 5....

    Hi all,

    Hopefully this will not begin a philosophical discussion about bad decisions gone by!

    My rather large size company has an application that hasn't been modified in quite a few years and it uses TrueDBGrid version 5. The installation media for this control has gone the way of the dinosaur and so has the developer who worked on this app for years before that.

    What we have now is an old Windows 2000 computer that is the only one where development of the app can be done, due to it being the only one with the license installed for TrueDBGrid 5. We have access the grid's licenses/serial numbers for our firm, but since it seems the license is applied at install time, and we don't have the installation media, there is no way to migrate the development from this machine to others.

    Upgrading the grid to version 8, while possible (we have licences for this as well), it is a complete last resort option due to budget/resource/testing constraints, and so I need to try and find a way to directly apply our TrueDBGrid V.5 license on another development machine.

    Can anyone help? Thanks in advance.
    -EM.
    ---
    REMEMBER: If your issue is resolved, use the Thread Tools menu to set it as such, and be sure to rate the posts that help you the most!


    Just because I was jealous of g4hsean!

  2. #2
    VB-aholic & Lovin' It LaVolpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beside Waldo
    Posts
    16,406

    Re: Directly applying license for TrueDBGrid version 5....

    Have you tried contacting the company that makes that grid?

    I would think the license is only required in design mode and any existing compiled apps using the grid won't require a license since the license should be compiled into the app itself.
    Insomnia is just a byproduct of, "It can't be done"

    Classics Enthusiast? Here's my 1969 Mustang Mach I Fastback. Her sister '67 Coupe has been adopted

    Newbie? Novice? Bored? Spend a few minutes browsing the FAQ section of the forum.
    Read the HitchHiker's Guide to Getting Help on the Forums.
    Here is the list of TAGs you can use to format your posts
    Here are VB6 Help Files online


    {Alpha Image Control} {Memory Leak FAQ} {GDI+ Classes/Samples} {Unicode Open/Save Dialog} {Icon Organizer/Extractor}
    {VB and DPI Tutorial} {XP/Vista Manifest Creator} {UserControl Button Template} {stdPicture Render Usage}

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    242

    Thumbs up Re: [RESOLVED] Directly applying license for TrueDBGrid version 5....

    Great news!

    We were able to pinpoint where the license resided on our old machine! We applied the registry entry to a new machine and all is solved!!!

    LaVolpe: Thanks for the tip, but the problem really is that we may need to access the affected forms in design mode and would not be able to without the license. There would also be no way that the current owner of the makers of this grid would support this old a version. They'd simply tell us to upgrade, especially since we also already have a license for a more recent version.

    Cheers.
    -EM
    ---
    REMEMBER: If your issue is resolved, use the Thread Tools menu to set it as such, and be sure to rate the posts that help you the most!


    Just because I was jealous of g4hsean!

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Re: [RESOLVED] Directly applying license for TrueDBGrid version 5....

    hello,

    I have nearly the same problem. I cannot install TrueDBGrid with my new windows-7-64bit operating system. the setup.exe seems to be a 16bit application. so my bought design-time-license cannot be used.....

    do you remember, what you have done exactly in the registry to solve this issue? or do you maybe have some docs?

    kind regards
    peter

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1

    Re: [RESOLVED] Directly applying license for TrueDBGrid version 5....

    Hello,
    I have the same problem with Win 7 64 bit. Can you say how and where I should place the license information of True DBGrid 5?

    Best Regards,
    cip

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1

    Re: [RESOLVED] Directly applying license for TrueDBGrid version 5....

    Hi
    I have the same problem with TruedbGrid 5.0 and Windows 7 64 bit. When trying to get help from the present owner of the software all I get is that it don't work on win 64 bit. Please could someone help me out how to manually edit the registry
    Regards Håkan

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    2

    Re: [RESOLVED] Directly applying license for TrueDBGrid version 5....

    Quote Originally Posted by emartinho View Post
    Great news!

    We were able to pinpoint where the license resided on our old machine! We applied the registry entry to a new machine and all is solved!!!

    LaVolpe: Thanks for the tip, but the problem really is that we may need to access the affected forms in design mode and would not be able to without the license. There would also be no way that the current owner of the makers of this grid would support this old a version. They'd simply tell us to upgrade, especially since we also already have a license for a more recent version.

    Cheers.
    -EM
    I know this thread is ancient, but I'm pretty desperate at this point. What version of TrueDBGrid were you using? I have successfully resolved my issue for version 5 through the registry, but I cannot find any information on 6. If this was for any version other than 5, can you please share what you did to get this to work?

    Thank you in advance.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    2

    Re: [RESOLVED] Directly applying license for TrueDBGrid version 5....

    Quote Originally Posted by OneRob View Post
    I know this thread is ancient, but I'm pretty desperate at this point. What version of TrueDBGrid were you using? I have successfully resolved my issue for version 5 through the registry, but I cannot find any information on 6. If this was for any version other than 5, can you please share what you did to get this to work?

    Thank you in advance.
    Never mind.. I guess it would help if I read the title. Version 5. My apologies.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    1

    Re: [RESOLVED] Directly applying license for TrueDBGrid version 5....

    Hi there, I have the same problem now, the main PC is dying and I have to move the same license to another pc using registry trick. Can you please tell me which are the registry keys needed?

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by emartinho View Post
    Great news!

    We were able to pinpoint where the license resided on our old machine! We applied the registry entry to a new machine and all is solved!!!

    LaVolpe: Thanks for the tip, but the problem really is that we may need to access the affected forms in design mode and would not be able to without the license. There would also be no way that the current owner of the makers of this grid would support this old a version. They'd simply tell us to upgrade, especially since we also already have a license for a more recent version.

    Cheers.
    -EM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.