Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Word VBA Paragraph formatting

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    31

    Unhappy Word VBA Paragraph formatting

    Hi All,

    I am using word VBA. I have created my own styles. The document we are working will have formats such as bold, italic, underline, subscript, superscript etc,. While applying my styles in the author document, existing formats are getting changed. I want to retain all the existing formats while applying styles. Is it possible???

    Ex:

    In this chapter, we will look at the simplest form of constitutive equa-tions for fluids having no viscous stress. To expand our range of applica-tions further, we will then extend the concept of invicid flow to include po-tential flow and unidirectional incompressible flow.


    Thanks,
    Senthil.

  2. #2
    Lively Member Elvenstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rotterdam (Netherlands)
    Posts
    122

    Re: Word VBA Paragraph formatting

    Do you mean you want to apply the format to a specific word (not to the whole document)?

    Perhaps it would help if you posted the code with which you tried to do the job. Shouldn't be too hard to fix it, I presume.
    Please be kind enough to RATE a helpful post.

  3. #3
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25,618

    Re: Word VBA Paragraph formatting

    try recording a macro, then check out the generated code
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

    dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part

    come back and mark your original post as resolved if your problem is fixed
    pete

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    31

    Red face Re: Word VBA Paragraph formatting

    Hi,

    Code:
    Option Explicit
    
    Private Sub Styling()
    Dim oPara As Paragraph
    
        ActiveDocument.Styles.Add Name:="Sample", Type:=wdStyleTypeParagraph
        ActiveDocument.Styles("Sample").AutomaticallyUpdate = False
        
        For Each oPara In ActiveDocument.Paragraphs
            oPara.Range.Select
            Selection.Style = "Sample"
        Next oPara
    End Sub
    While executing the above code if the para has already having formats such as italic, bold, underline etc,. then it got changed to normal while applying style.


    Para before applying style:
    The Adenovirus (Ad) is currently being evaluated as a cancer therapy agent for a wide variety of tumor types, including brain tumors. Shortly after its isolation in the 1950s, it was demonstrated that the Ad has in vitro oncolytic.

    Para after applying style:
    The Adenovirus (Ad) is currently being evaluated as a cancer therapy agent for a wide variety of tumor types, including brain tumors. Shortly after its isolation in the 1950s, it was demonstrated that the Ad has in vitro oncolytic.

    Thanks,
    Senthil.

  5. #5
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    233

    Re: Word VBA Paragraph formatting

    why not try to find the word you want to change the style or formatting, then if it finds the word apply the style..
    here's the code..

    Code:
    Sub styledoc()
    Dim strfind As String
    
    strfind = InputBox("Type the string to change formatting")
    
    With Selection.Find
            .Text = strfind
            .Forward = True
            .Wrap = wdFindContinue
            .Format = False
            .MatchCase = False
            .MatchWholeWord = True
            .MatchWildcards = False
            .MatchSoundsLike = False
            .MatchAllWordForms = True
        End With
        Selection.Find.Execute
        Selection.Font.Bold = wdToggle ' bold the text
        Selection.Font.Italic = wdToggle ' change to italic
        Selection.Font.Underline = wdUnderlineSingle
    
    End Sub
    pls. don't forget to rate helpful post...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width