Visual Studio Pro Upgrade from Express?!-VBForums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Visual Studio Pro Upgrade from Express?!

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Jenner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Mentor, OH
    Posts
    3,447

    Visual Studio Pro Upgrade from Express?!

    While having to order up a second license of Visual Studio Pro 2008, I came across the following page:

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/vs20.../cc263904.aspx

    The part that interested me was at the bottom under Upgrade Pricing Eligibility. You can install the upgrade version of Visual Studio on a computer with Visual Studio Express on it?!


    Ok, Visual Studio Express versions are free to download and use... so if this is true, why would anyone pay the extra $250 for the full version?

    Is there a catch? Am I reading this correctly? Can anyone verify this?

    Thanks.
    My CodeBank Submissions: TETRIS using VB.NET2010 and XNA4.0, Strong Encryption Class, Hardware ID Information Class, Generic .NET Data Provider Class, Lambda Function Example, Lat/Long to UTM Conversion Class, Audio Class using BASS.DLL

    Remember to RATE the people who helped you and mark your forum RESOLVED when you're done!

    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. "
    - Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Super Moderator si_the_geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    37,112

    Re: Visual Studio Pro Upgrade from Express?!

    It sounds absurd, but based on that page it seems to be true... and not just for Microsoft's free products either, but any development tool:
    To qualify for upgrade pricing, you must be a licensed user of one of the following products:

    * An earlier version of Microsoft Visual Studio
    * Any other developer tool (including free developer tools, such as Visual Studio Express Editions or Eclipse)

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Jenner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Mentor, OH
    Posts
    3,447

    Re: Visual Studio Pro Upgrade from Express?!

    Yea! I read it and was thinking "That's absurd! That make zero sense from a marketing standpoint!" If it wasn't on MSDN, I wouldn't have believed it.

    Well heck, I'll start downloading Eclipse now and order my company up a copy of VS2k8 Pro Upgrade.
    My CodeBank Submissions: TETRIS using VB.NET2010 and XNA4.0, Strong Encryption Class, Hardware ID Information Class, Generic .NET Data Provider Class, Lambda Function Example, Lat/Long to UTM Conversion Class, Audio Class using BASS.DLL

    Remember to RATE the people who helped you and mark your forum RESOLVED when you're done!

    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. "
    - Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    25,141

    Re: Visual Studio Pro Upgrade from Express?!

    it's called market capturing...from the VBExpress -> Pro step.... it's worth the money... you're getting Visual Studio Pro... which adds on other stuff besides jsut VB. I'm surprised at the Eclipse note, but again, market capturing. It gets people who would otherwise pass over VS to consider it. I'm not saying it make a whole lot of sense...(any one using Eclipse probably isn't interested in .NET development, and if they are, odds are they will be using Mono anyhow.)

    -tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

  5. #5
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    85

    Re: Visual Studio Pro Upgrade from Express?!

    Hello

    The link in this initial post now is for VS 2012, and mentions no upgrade path.
    I'm upgrading from VB Pro 6.0, I have VS 2005 Pro on the shelf but never installed/opened it.

    I'm considering upgrading to VS Pro 2008 or VS Pro 2010.

    If I buy a VS Pro 2008 or 2010 upgrade, will I be able to continue to use my VB6 while I update my many apps?
    Does VSPro allow installation on a second/portable PC?

    I remember huge hassles when upgrading Access years back and trying to maintain apps from older versions.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator si_the_geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    37,112

    Re: Visual Studio Pro Upgrade from Express?!

    If your VS 2005 has a full licence (rather than an upgrade licence) then you can upgrade from that to a later version, and keep using VB 6.

    If your VS 2005 was an upgrade licence (from VB 6), then I'm pretty sure you can only use one of them.

  7. #7
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    85

    Re: Visual Studio Pro Upgrade from Express?!

    I was thinking about selling my Unopened VSP 2005, and upgrading from VBP6 though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.