Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: my latest pc project...

my latest pc project...

here's a teaser photo.

I am taking plenty of photos and have progressed pretty far. Only setback so far is i've never worked with plexiglas before and it's what i am using for the back. I broke it.

But it's going to be a tivo killer when i'm done. So far it's got a dvd burner installed, 160gb sata hard drive, athalon core-2, 4gb ram, and a really interesting motherboard. Has dvi-out and hdmi out natively.

It's an asus board: m3a78-em. Here's a photo of the back plate:

As far as i know, it's the first motherboard designed specifically to be made into a media center system.
    Last edited by Lord Orwell; Jan 12th, 2009 at 08:14 PM.
    My light show youtube page (it's made the news) www.youtube.com/@artnet2twinkly
    Contact me on the socials www.facebook.com/lordorwell

Re: my latest pc project...

For cutting plexiglass, I use a jigsaw with a fine-tooth (14 tpi or more) blade designed for wood. Work slowly and keep the blade at a constant (but not too fast) speed.

For curving plexiglass, heat it to at least 140° F but watch for bubbling if you get it too hot.

i got the thinnest piece they had available. I think i'm going to get a thicker one next time. It should be tougher. This board has another interesting feature i haven't managed to get to work yet (probably due to the raid): It has 5-seconds-until-online, a tiny OS developed mostly by ASUS that gives full internet functionality including flash 9, acrobat reader, firefox 2.xx, skype, and instant messaging. I'm having problems getting the board to know i installed the required files on the HD though. I was cutting the plexiglass with a dremel abrasion tool but i didn't score deep enough and that was all she wrote.

edit: closer to getting the tiny os to work. It requires either standard IDE drives or a usb drive. I installed it on a usb stick and it boots. Still won't launch though. I think it's hung up looking for network.