Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Wireless Stats (for connected AP)

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    17

    Wireless Stats (for connected AP)

    Hi,

    Hope you all can find this usefull (not Vista compatible). Zip only contains source, no compiled .EXE.

    No error handling as yet.

    Need to be connected to a wireless network for stats (as there is no error handling yet).

    All stats are retreived from WMI.

    Stats received include:
    Wireless Adapter name,
    Signal Strength in DB,
    Signal Strength as a bar (Excellent, Good, Poor, etc),
    Signal Strength as a percentage (to use a progress bar),
    Current connected SSID,
    MAC of AP,
    Frequency of AP,
    Channel of AP,
    Connection Status,
    Speed (in Mbps),
    Network type.

    (Still in the process of adding listbox at bottom showing available wireless networks, noticed that MsNdis_80211_BssiList does not work because that uses old structures where the SSID was fixed length, now there are new structs where the SSID is variable length, that is why the first AP info shows but all others are garbage when using BssiList call). See here regarding getting list of available networks,

    http://www.vbforums.com/showthread.php?t=547916

    Cheers
    Dave
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by dvdza; Nov 27th, 2008 at 01:20 AM.

  2. #2
    Frenzied Member Jim Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Mars base one Username: Jim Davis Password: yCrm33
    Posts
    1,284

    Re: Wireless Stats (for connected AP)

    Oh yes, ok it really works!

    The only problem is that you didnt use Option Explicit, so you cant see that you just use temporary and undefined variables and objects. You also create a new object for each WMI calling, that im not sure you have to.

    It may be better to create only one WMI object at startup, but you can execute the queries, by using this primary (and only) wmi object.

    You may also want to set the refresh rate to 500 or 1000. Thats fairly enough for refreshing the informations. Now it ruin up things on me, it causes around a 30% cpu usage, on my Intel E6750.

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    17

    Re: Wireless Stats (for connected AP)

    Hi Jim,

    Its still work in progress, definately not the final result.

    I am a firm believer in declaring my variables, I just wanted to knock something together quickly.

    I will post a new updated version soon (in the mean time I think I am actually going to solve the available networks issue, I am making calls directly to the driver using NDIS.... so its exciting times). The new version will probably not use WMI at all, and totally be based on NDIS, which I am sure will help many folks on VB6.

    Cheers
    Dave

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    17

    Re: Wireless Stats (for connected AP)

    I am ecstatic....

    I have just used Ndis driver call, through VB6 and received my first successful results (thus communicating directly with the driver and totally avoiding WMI). So far its only RSSI (signal Strength), but its a start.

    I am getting my way around "deviceiocontrol" and Ndis queries.

    Exciting times people....

    Will report again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width