[VB6] Google Translater-VBForums
Results 1 to 31 of 31

Thread: [VB6] Google Translater

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    [VB6] Google Translater

    Found these translate from Robert Simard
    source: http://www.planet-source-code.com/vb...62327&lngWId=1

    v1.00
    - First release

    v1.01
    - fix the bug which Edgeral mention. (Not translate to spanish)
    - Added more GUI
    - Added so when use select a From language, it translate all the GUI text to that language. Thise might not be a good way, but fun

    Know bug.
    - Following language Dosent work. (Maybe the UTF-8 format)
    - Arabisk
    - hindi
    - Translating from english to spanish using yes mama and yes papa, result in nothing.

    v1.1 (24.02.2010)
    Update by ihuman
    - Updated parsing engine
    - Added parsePage (it was in code but not used) + polish signs
    - Added multiline support (TextToTranslate)
    - Small interface/labels changes (i'm pedantic )

    v1.2 (21.09.2010
    Update by snortop
    - updated Google_language to new parser

    v2.0 (v0.001)
    By Al-Qaim
    (Need: fm20.dll, download)
    I have not been able to confirm these myself, and is not about to.
    - New GUI
    - Translation bug fixed. (Something wrong in fm20.dll)


    What it does.
    It translate a text to another language (12 other languages)

    If you have updates or things you want to improve.
    Post them here in thise thread and lets make it better for us all!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by snortop; Jan 25th, 2011 at 01:14 AM.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Hack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Searching for mendhak
    Posts
    58,335

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Please post your submission in a zip file.

    Thanks.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    When you have received an answer to your question, please mark it as resolved using the Thread Tools menu.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    I dont answer coding questions via PM or EMail. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.

    Creating A Wizard In VB.NET
    Paging A Recordset
    What is wrong with using On Error Resume Next
    Good Article: Language Enhancements In Visual Basic 2010
    Upgrading VB6 Code To VB.NET
    Microsoft MVP 2005/2006/2007/2008/2009/2010/2011/2012/Defrocked

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Dont have zip, and will never get it.. rar better

  4. #4
    VB For Fun Edgemeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    WindowFromPoint
    Posts
    3,664

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Quote Originally Posted by snortop
    It translate a text to another language [I](12 other languages)
    What sort of text?

    If I enter an English sentence and select Spanish it returns error, "could not translate". Shouldn't there be two combo boxes to choose a From and a To?

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    Thumbs up Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Quote Originally Posted by Edgemeal
    What sort of text?

    If I enter an English sentence and select Spanish it returns error, "could not translate". Shouldn't there be two combo boxes to choose a From and a To?
    Well it shoulden, as it should detect what language you type in the first.

    So i check, as you did. And found the error.

    The error is in the google_translate, where i check the language used. For google to translate it should use only 2 letters es = spanish and en=english. (But i have from language on auto detect in thise code.) But where it should return the spanish, it return autodetect, also. It because i wrote Spanish in the return function and spanish in the combo.

    So thx to you im going to fix thise, and publich new code

    Please report anything else you find.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    I have updatet the file now.

    Update.
    - fix the bug which Edgeral mention. (Not translate to spanish)
    - Added more GUI
    - Added so when use select a From language, it translate all the GUI text to that language. Thise might not be a good way, but fun

    Could anyone make a zip of thise, as i dont have it.

    ... just tested it.. more bug found in to bulgarisk
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by snortop; Jun 24th, 2008 at 01:42 AM.

  7. #7
    VB For Fun Edgemeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    WindowFromPoint
    Posts
    3,664

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    OK just tried English to Spanish with latest one, typed in these words and result is blank.

    mama
    daddy
    yes mama
    yes daddy

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Well the reason mama and daddy not working is because it translate to same language, meaning it's not in google database.

    But yes mama and yes daddy, should work so that is wierd that it does not work.

    Im looking into it, can say when i would be done :|

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Found the bug, it's because i still have the from language set to auto detect.

    And when it tried to translate those word, google show a error saying it dont know "taglog" language.

    Also a bug in the Arabisk language, dont know what to do here.

    Any more bugs

    Added v1.02
    - now it save the GUI language in a ini file.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    VB For Fun Edgemeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    WindowFromPoint
    Posts
    3,664

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Quote Originally Posted by snortop
    Found the bug, it's because i still have the from language set to auto detect.

    And when it tried to translate those word, google show a error saying it dont know "taglog" language.

    Also a bug in the Arabisk language, dont know what to do here.

    Any more bugs

    Added v1.02
    - now it save the GUI language in a ini file.
    Keep up the good work!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    37

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    ThanKs!

  12. #12
    Lively Member SNIPER.PS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    95

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    thanks

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    18

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    not work !

  14. #14
    PowerPoster Nightwalker83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    13,120

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Quote Originally Posted by lame View Post
    not work !
    Yeah, for some reason when you click the "Translate" button the result is "</span>" which is an error, rather than the translation of the original text.
    when you quote a post could you please do it via the "Reply With Quote" button or if it multiple post click the "''+" button then "Reply With Quote" button.
    If this thread is finished with please mark it "Resolved" by selecting "Mark thread resolved" from the "Thread tools" drop-down menu.
    Please consider giving me some rep points if I help you a lot.
    Links to my code examples can now be found on my website: My websites
    Please rate my post if you find it helpful!
    Technology is a dangerous thing in the hands of an idiot! I am that idiot.

  15. #15

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    hmm the must have moved where the translation apears!
    PHP: ClassDB

    VB6:
    Own code: Google Translater

    Over and out from Snortop!!

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    37

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Now this is not work :'(

  17. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    don't worry mustiback. I had some free time, results:



    ' v1.1 (24.02.2010)
    ' Update by ihuman
    ' - Updated parsing engine
    ' - Added parsePage (it was in code but not used) + polish signs
    ' - Added multiline support (TextToTranslate)
    ' - Small interface/labels changes (i'm pedantic )
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by ihuman; Feb 24th, 2010 at 02:51 PM.

  18. #18

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    now it dosent work again... someone have to fix it ^^

    So i did, it in top.. googletranslate v1.03
    Last edited by snortop; Sep 21st, 2010 at 09:59 AM.
    PHP: ClassDB

    VB6:
    Own code: Google Translater

    Over and out from Snortop!!

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    37

    Thumbs up Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Quote Originally Posted by ihuman View Post
    don't worry mustiback. I had some free time, results:

    Thankx

  20. #20

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    > So i did, it in top.. googletranslate v1.03

    I can't find the link to your googletranslate v1.03
    It seems the most recent post here is older
    I'd be very interested to try the v1.03 code ?
    Jeff Bennett
    Jeff@Bennet-Tec.Com

    < advertising removed by moderator >

  21. #21

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Please look in the first post ... all the way in top

    v1.03 (should proably be v1.3)
    http://www.vbforums.com/attachment.p...5&d=1285081124
    PHP: ClassDB

    VB6:
    Own code: Google Translater

    Over and out from Snortop!!

  22. #22

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Thanks. That's working well for me now.

    - jeff
    Jeff Bennett
    Jeff@Bennet-Tec.Com

    < advertising removed by moderator >

  23. #23
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    5

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Where is My Post ?

  24. #24
    Super Moderator si_the_geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    37,202

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Welcome to VBForums

    It has been deleted, but I am not entirely sure why as it was done by another member of the moderating team - I couldn't check your attachment myself, because you used .rar (which needs special software) rather than .zip (which is integrated with Windows).

    However, based on the file size I suspect that you included compiled files (which we don't like, because they could include a virus etc, and people can't learn from the code), and based on your comments it seemed to include a complied file that it is illegal to distribute (an MS Forms DLL).

  25. #25
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    5

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Hello Mates!

    just this is update of some early version released on vbforums,
    many changes have been made specialy Unicode strings for Asian & Arab
    languages.Please download & register fm20.dll before going in..

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Enjoy the GOOGLE TRANSLATOR VER 2.0.0
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Queries r welcome
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Fm20.dll ,is available from mircosoft web site at Dowload fm20.dll here fm20.dll is packed with setuppad.exe
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Al-Qaim
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Al-Qaim; Jan 24th, 2011 at 12:17 PM.

  26. #26
    Super Moderator Hack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Searching for mendhak
    Posts
    58,335

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    I have edited your post and removed your email address.

    You should never post your email address in an open post on an open forum. Mail spam bots can pick that up and before you know it, your mailbox is full of junk mail. If you wish to share your email address with other forum members, please do so via our PM system.

    But, most importantly, we prefer all answers to questions, and questions themselves, be publically posted rather than sent via EMail or PM. That way, everyone can benefit.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    When you have received an answer to your question, please mark it as resolved using the Thread Tools menu.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    I dont answer coding questions via PM or EMail. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.

    Creating A Wizard In VB.NET
    Paging A Recordset
    What is wrong with using On Error Resume Next
    Good Article: Language Enhancements In Visual Basic 2010
    Upgrading VB6 Code To VB.NET
    Microsoft MVP 2005/2006/2007/2008/2009/2010/2011/2012/Defrocked

  27. #27

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    To Al-Qaim
    Well i see you made new gui and change a few linie of code.
    but why remove the comment of change log? in modGoogleTranslate
    And called it v0.01, it should be v2.00

    But it still buggy
    in frmgoogletranslate it reference txtInput.text which is nowhere to be found.

    I like the new GUI look of it
    PHP: ClassDB

    VB6:
    Own code: Google Translater

    Over and out from Snortop!!

  28. #28
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    5

    [VB6] Google Translater

    Hello Dude!

    what else the version snortop u call ,its ok,
    ""The new v2.0 seem buggy use on own risk!"" ?
    what does that mean ?

    "in frmgoogletranslate it reference txtInput.text which is nowhere to be found."
    txtinput's parent is FrmGoogleTranslate,So i Told u to register fm20.dll before running the project,if fm20.dll isn't on ur system ,u would get txtinput like picture box.txtiput in fm20.dll is unicode aware control,so usefull for URDU ,PERSIAN AND ARABIC ,if u don't want to use these languages just replace the txtinput or rest of text controls with vb's normal text boxes,


    Hope U all would like The unique GUI . . .
    Original Post here
    Al-Qaim
    Last edited by Al-Qaim; Jan 24th, 2011 at 04:36 AM. Reason: Insert Image Link

  29. #29

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    that why i mention use on own risk.

    Because i though you proably had to use that dll file you mention!
    PHP: ClassDB

    VB6:
    Own code: Google Translater

    Over and out from Snortop!!

  30. #30

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    113

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    It buggy again, but this time it need a code from google.com developer or something to use the translate like this.
    PHP: ClassDB

    VB6:
    Own code: Google Translater

    Over and out from Snortop!!

  31. #31
    Junior Member PowerProg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    17

    Re: [VB6] Google Translater

    Tested and working
    Thank you

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.