Thread: Collision detection with stuff in background image

Frenzied Member

Collision detection with stuff in background image

Hi,

I'm just starting out writing a game with VB6 and bascally it is a character walking around 2D on a background image in all 4 directions. I was to do collision detection for objects such as a tree, building, etc. But these items are included in the background rather than added on top as objects. I probably assume they should be objects instead right?

I read a tutorial on how to scroll the background which is awsome but how to I scroll the objects also? Just move them with the background? And only bother doing this with ones that would be within range of the screen to see rather than ones all over the background image?

If I left objects painted into the background, I was gonna use some sort of array to detect where the objects would be. But thats more calculation when I can use collision detection with objects probably. Maybe I just answered my own question then!

Thanks

Frenzied Member

Re: Collision detection with stuff in background image

Okay, if I use objects on top of the background image, how is the best method to detect collision? Do i have to check every single object I put on the background? Or try to filter doing it only with objects that are on the visual screen somehow?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by WarrenW
    Okay, if I use objects on top of the background image, how is the best method to detect collision? Do i have to check every single object I put on the background? Or try to filter doing it only with objects that are on the visual screen somehow?

Thanks
    i have some adivices:
    for you do a scrolling game, you can use 2 pictureboxes:
    one of these pictureboxes is for show the game;
    and the other is for moving(here is the game)(for scrolling the game).
    other advice:
    use(for example) an image array, because they are transparent without images for "walls".