Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: [RESOLVED] Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    545

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

    I recently created a new project, using the same security file. I am able to do everything, (add delete, update, change, modify, insert, etc). I added a new user and had them try to use the database/userform at which point the code for the saving of the table has an access permission error on the .addnew area.

    I have given them Read access, with Read, Update, and Insert for all tables.

    I have read around it could be a "enforce referral integrety" error? But i have given them read update and insert. I even went so far as to give the user Delete for each table, query, form, report etc.

    this is what I have.

    Code:
        Set dbs = CurrentDb
        Set rsTblDLPS = dbs.OpenRecordset("tblDigitalMigration") ', dbOpenTable)
        Set rsTblDLPS_Agent = dbs.OpenRecordset("tblDMEmployLookup") ', dbOpenTable)
        Dim TempRecordID As Long
        
        With rsTblDLPS
            .AddNew 'error occures on this line.
                .Fields("ScheduledPV") = frm.txtScheduledPV
                .Fields("SaidNo") = frm.txtSaidNo
                .Fields("CallBacks") = frm.txtCallBacks
                .Fields("LMOR") = frm.txtLMOR
                .Fields("BusyNoAnswer") = frm.txtBusyNoAnswer
                .Fields("HoursWorked") = frm.txtHoursWorked
                .Fields("CallDate") = frm.txtCallDate
                .Fields("LogDate") = Now
                .Fields("LogBy") = DBEngine(0).UserName
                TempRecordID = .Fields("DigitalMigrationID")
            .Update
        End With
        With rsTblDLPS_Agent
            .AddNew
                .Fields("DigitalMigrationID") = TempRecordID
                .Fields("EmployeeID") = frm.cmbAgent.Column(0)
            .Update
        End With
    EDIT 1: 4:34pm AST (02/25/2008)

    Just tried removing the enforce referral integrety, still has the error.

    "You do not have the necessary permissions to use the 'tablename' object. Have your system administrator or the person who created this object establish the appropriate permissions for you."
    Errnumber: 3033
    Casued by DAO.Recordset
    Last edited by rack; Feb 26th, 2008 at 12:08 PM.
    Please RATE posts, click the RATE button to the left under the Users Name.

    Once your thread has been answered, Please use the Thread Tools and select RESOLVED so everyone knows your question has been answered.


    "As I look past the light, I see the world I wished tonight, never the less, sleep has come, and death shall soon follow..." © 1998 Jeremy J Swartwood

  2. #2

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    545

    Re: Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

    Does DAO not inherrently use the permissions of the logged in user?

    Giving as user permission to

    Form:
    Open/Run
    Read Design
    Modify Design
    Adminsiter

    Table
    Read Desgin
    Modify Design
    Administer
    Read Data
    Update Data
    Insert Data
    Delete Data


    Query
    Read Design
    Modify Design
    Administer
    Read Data
    Update Data
    Insert Data
    Delete Data

    Etc for report and macro.

    If I give them all this access. How come I still get the Error 3033, You do not have the necessary permission for "tablename". ??
    Please RATE posts, click the RATE button to the left under the Users Name.

    Once your thread has been answered, Please use the Thread Tools and select RESOLVED so everyone knows your question has been answered.


    "As I look past the light, I see the world I wished tonight, never the less, sleep has come, and death shall soon follow..." © 1998 Jeremy J Swartwood

  3. #3
    Discovering Life Siddharth Rout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    12,001

    Re: Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

    I am not good with 'permissions' but few questions (just a shot in the dark...
    )

    1) Is the user logging in thru his NT id? if yes, then refer to Qstn 2
    2) where is the database located? Is it located in a folder where the user doesn't have access or enough rights?
    A good exercise for the Heart is to bend down and help another up...
    Please Mark your Thread "Resolved", if the query is solved


    MyGear:
    ★ CPU ★ Ryzen 5 5800X
    ★ GPU ★ NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 TI Founder Edition
    ★ RAM ★ G. Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB 3600MHz
    ★ MB ★ ASUS TUF GAMING X570 (WI-FI) ATX Gaming
    ★ Storage ★ SSD SB-ROCKET-1TB + SEAGATE 2TB Barracuda IHD
    ★ Cooling ★ NOCTUA NH-D15 CHROMAX BLACK 140mm + 10 of Noctua NF-F12 PWM
    ★ PSU ★ ANTEC HCG-1000-EXTREME 1000 Watt 80 Plus Gold Fully Modular PSU
    ★ Case ★ LIAN LI PC-O11 DYNAMIC XL ROG (BLACK) (G99.O11DXL-X)
    ★ Monitor ★ LG Ultragear 27" 240Hz Gaming Monitor
    ★ Keyboard ★ TVS Electronics Gold Keyboard
    ★ Mouse ★ Logitech G502 Hero

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    545

    Re: Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

    1) yes
    2) Database BackEnd is located on the network. Front End on there computer.

    If I try to log into the database from my computer with my information, everything is fine (I am the owner/creater of the tables/forms/etc).

    If I try to log into the database from my computer, with Their information. It lets me do everything, open forms, view tables, view reports. The only thing I can not do, is insert/update the table with via DAO.

    I think I may be joining the workgroup incorrectly.

    Can multipule database's or front ends (different forms/queries/tables) connect and use the same Security file?

    If so, what is the correct method to connect to it?

    I find that I am not the administrator, though i am the owner of the objects. Did I skip a step on this new file?

    Do I have to do something seperate?
    Please RATE posts, click the RATE button to the left under the Users Name.

    Once your thread has been answered, Please use the Thread Tools and select RESOLVED so everyone knows your question has been answered.


    "As I look past the light, I see the world I wished tonight, never the less, sleep has come, and death shall soon follow..." © 1998 Jeremy J Swartwood

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    545

    Re: Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

    I just tried to have a user run code in a button, in the original front end, and it is DAO as well. It gives the same permission error. So I know it has nothing to do with my new front end. It has something to do with security/DAO and my understanding.
    Please RATE posts, click the RATE button to the left under the Users Name.

    Once your thread has been answered, Please use the Thread Tools and select RESOLVED so everyone knows your question has been answered.


    "As I look past the light, I see the world I wished tonight, never the less, sleep has come, and death shall soon follow..." © 1998 Jeremy J Swartwood

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    545

    Re: Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

    I think that the user does not have write access to the newly created table?

    Set recordset = object.OpenRecordset (type, options, lockedits)

    Source: A String specifying the source of the records for the new Recordset. The source can be a table name, a query name, or an SQL statement that returns records. For table-type Recordset objects in Microsoft Jet databases, the source can only be a table name.
    Please RATE posts, click the RATE button to the left under the Users Name.

    Once your thread has been answered, Please use the Thread Tools and select RESOLVED so everyone knows your question has been answered.


    "As I look past the light, I see the world I wished tonight, never the less, sleep has come, and death shall soon follow..." © 1998 Jeremy J Swartwood

  7. #7
    Discovering Life Siddharth Rout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    12,001

    Re: Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

    Quote Originally Posted by rack
    1) yes
    2) Database BackEnd is located on the network. Front End on there computer.

    If I try to log into the database from my computer with my information, everything is fine (I am the owner/creater of the tables/forms/etc).

    If I try to log into the database from my computer, with Their information. It lets me do everything, open forms, view tables, view reports. The only thing I can not do, is insert/update the table with via DAO.
    All the more reason for you to check the user's permission in the relevant folder on the network drive... Did you check that?
    A good exercise for the Heart is to bend down and help another up...
    Please Mark your Thread "Resolved", if the query is solved


    MyGear:
    ★ CPU ★ Ryzen 5 5800X
    ★ GPU ★ NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 TI Founder Edition
    ★ RAM ★ G. Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB 3600MHz
    ★ MB ★ ASUS TUF GAMING X570 (WI-FI) ATX Gaming
    ★ Storage ★ SSD SB-ROCKET-1TB + SEAGATE 2TB Barracuda IHD
    ★ Cooling ★ NOCTUA NH-D15 CHROMAX BLACK 140mm + 10 of Noctua NF-F12 PWM
    ★ PSU ★ ANTEC HCG-1000-EXTREME 1000 Watt 80 Plus Gold Fully Modular PSU
    ★ Case ★ LIAN LI PC-O11 DYNAMIC XL ROG (BLACK) (G99.O11DXL-X)
    ★ Monitor ★ LG Ultragear 27" 240Hz Gaming Monitor
    ★ Keyboard ★ TVS Electronics Gold Keyboard
    ★ Mouse ★ Logitech G502 Hero

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    545

    Re: Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

    The folder permissions have nothing to do with Database security.

    I am logged into my computer with my username and password, I have the same access to the folder no matter how I log into the database.
    Please RATE posts, click the RATE button to the left under the Users Name.

    Once your thread has been answered, Please use the Thread Tools and select RESOLVED so everyone knows your question has been answered.


    "As I look past the light, I see the world I wished tonight, never the less, sleep has come, and death shall soon follow..." © 1998 Jeremy J Swartwood

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    545

    Re: Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

    It has something to do with the new table I belive.

    When you create a DAO table in reference to an existing table, does DAO create a new table, if it does, does .addnew start this new table?

    If not.

    Do you need to have administrator rights on th e database to run DAO type code?

    is there an alternative, that would allow me to write to the table, without using DAO since I am already in the database as i'm using access it's self?
    Please RATE posts, click the RATE button to the left under the Users Name.

    Once your thread has been answered, Please use the Thread Tools and select RESOLVED so everyone knows your question has been answered.


    "As I look past the light, I see the world I wished tonight, never the less, sleep has come, and death shall soon follow..." © 1998 Jeremy J Swartwood

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    545

    Re: Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

    Playing with security some more (I Hope I don't look out the entire company hahaha)

    I belive it has something to do with the different front ends. I belive it is causing the database/security to get confused. It shows full permission, yet they obviously do not have full permission. I put similar code in a different function, gave the user read udpate insert data previlages on new tables/all existing tables andthey were able to.

    I'm going to try to migrate the new front end into the old front end as a button/option on the main switch/splash screen.

    Still looking for insight or suggestions.
    Please RATE posts, click the RATE button to the left under the Users Name.

    Once your thread has been answered, Please use the Thread Tools and select RESOLVED so everyone knows your question has been answered.


    "As I look past the light, I see the world I wished tonight, never the less, sleep has come, and death shall soon follow..." © 1998 Jeremy J Swartwood

  11. #11

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    545

    Re: Error 3033: You do not have the necessary Permissions.

    I got it working, and I belive the problem is as follows.

    I was opening the 2nd front end, and setting permission in that.

    If I open the 1st front end, and set permissions in that for "New Tables/Queries" it works.
    Please RATE posts, click the RATE button to the left under the Users Name.

    Once your thread has been answered, Please use the Thread Tools and select RESOLVED so everyone knows your question has been answered.


    "As I look past the light, I see the world I wished tonight, never the less, sleep has come, and death shall soon follow..." © 1998 Jeremy J Swartwood

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width