dcsimg
Results 1 to 31 of 31

Thread: array object limit?

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    528

    array object limit?

    is there a limit to how many objects can be in an array? i'm thinking that variable arrays will be able to hold more than object arrays, does anyone know the limits for object arrays and variable arrays?

  2. #2

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    528

    Re: array object limit?

    yes, but is there a definite limit, particularly for objects on the form?

  4. #4
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,784

    Re: array object limit?

    I think the limit is 32768 (2^15), since the index is of Integer data type...

  5. #5
    PowerPoster RhinoBull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    New Amsterdam
    Posts
    24,135

    Re: array object limit?

    No, ordinary array can hold much more than that:
    Code:
    Private Sub Command1_Click()
    Dim arTest() As Integer
    
        ReDim arTest(400000)
        
        Debug.Print UBound(arTest)
    
    End Sub
    However, to answer the "limitation" question - if kilo is asking about the max number of control on a single form then it's limited to 256 unique names (note: not controls).
    That means that can you have 256 unique control arrays holding each 256 members.
    If you however don't use control array then it can only be 256 controls because each of them will have unique name.
    Limitation is there but it's rather difficult to overcome.

    MSDN for some reason says 254 unique names. So one of us is wrong.

  6. #6
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,784

    Re: array object limit?

    Quote Originally Posted by RhinoBull
    No, ordinary array can hold much more than that:
    Not for "objects on the form"....
    Quote Originally Posted by killo
    yes, but is there a definite limit, particularly for objects on the form?

  7. #7

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    528

    Re: array object limit?

    that makes sense, my project goes funny around the time it would have loaded 256 shapes, because i'm using a shape array, a new shape gets loaded onto the form every now and then
    ok so i'm making a way to get around this, basically it's:


    s1 = s1 + 1
    if s1 > 100 then s1 = 0
    Load Shape1(s1)
    'toy around with the properties of shape1


    but when it loops back round to s1 = 0 then the compiler starts whining something about trying to load a shape thats already loaded.
    is there a way to detect if the shape is already loaded so that if it is i can unload it?
    Last edited by killo; Sep 5th, 2007 at 11:17 AM.

  9. #9
    PowerPoster RhinoBull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    New Amsterdam
    Posts
    24,135

    Re: array object limit?

    You may create a few control arrays of shapes in design (as many as you think should make sense)
    and during runtime add members to one array at the time until it reaches certain number (like 200 or so) and then continue with another array...

    But what do you do that needs that many shapes?

  10. #10
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,784

    Re: array object limit?

    If I were you, I would just draw all the shapes through code on a Picture Box.

    I don't like shapes anyways becuse it causes too much flickering when moving the shapes, and if you have that many shapes, I can only imagine the mess...

  11. #11

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    528

    Re: array object limit?

    basically it's like a thing where shapes come up when you press the keys to the beat of the song and the shapes come across the screen, like those dance mat things where you have to press the arrows in time with the music, its quite similar to guitar hero and it uses loads of shapes especially when playing the 9+ minute long songs by dragonforce with really fast solos.

    cvmichael: the shapes don't flicker much at all and it would take loads of recoding to change it to the picture box method you mentioned. there isn't any mess either because the shapes go upwards and eventually dissapear off the top of the form, at which time i stop them from moving to conserve resources.

    by the time i have used 100 shapes the first one will have certainly dissapeared off the top of the form so i would like to go back to the first one and start from that one again using the method i mentioned earlier

    rhinobull: i wouldn't know how many arrays to make because i don't know how many shapes its going to use and i cant be bothered to go through the process of switching to the next array when one is done.
    isn't there a simple line of code to check if a shape is already loaded or not?
    Last edited by killo; Sep 5th, 2007 at 11:58 AM.

  13. #13

  14. #14

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    528

    Re: array object limit?

    i want to do it this way because this would only involve changing a bit of mmy code whereas doing it the way michael said would mean i would have to completely recode my project

    i'm loading new shapes:
    Load Shape1(s1)

    then adding 1 to s1 so that it loads the next one next time, and once s1 gets to 100 i want to go back and load shape1(0) but the compiler complains because i'm trying to load it when its already loaded,
    i just need a simple piece of code thats the equivalent of this:

    if shape1(s1) is already loaded then unload shape1(s1)

    just one piece of code that checks if the shape is already loaded, does this exist!?

  15. #15
    PowerPoster RhinoBull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    New Amsterdam
    Posts
    24,135

    Re: array object limit?

    Try this very quick sample - start pressing any key when you run it:
    Code:
    Option Explicit
    
    Private Sub Form_Load()
        Me.AutoRedraw = True
        Randomize
    End Sub
    
    Private Sub Form_KeyDown(KeyCode As Integer, Shift As Integer)
    Dim R%, G%, B%, myColor
    Dim X As Integer, Y As Integer
    
        R = Int((254 * Rnd) + 1)
        G = Int((254 * Rnd) + 1)
        B = Int((254 * Rnd) + 1)
        myColor = RGB(R, G, B)
        
        X = Int((Me.ScaleWidth * Rnd) + 1)
        Y = Int((Me.ScaleHeight * Rnd) + 1)
        
        Me.ForeColor = myColor
        Me.DrawStyle = 0 'solid
        Me.FillColor = myColor
        Me.FillStyle = 0 'solid
        Me.Circle (X, Y), 300, myColor
    
    End Sub
    You may also make so actual shape is random: circle (as shown) or square, etc...

  16. #16

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    528

    Re: array object limit?

    i appreciate you typing that out for me but it would take a very long time to implement that into my project.
    all i want to know is; is there a piece of code that checks if a shape is already loaded!?

  17. #17

  18. #18

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    528

    Re: array object limit?

    thankyou

  19. #19
    PowerPoster Ellis Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,527

    Re: array object limit?

    Did that link help you? I don't see how it avoids a runtime error.

    I'd just suppress the runtime error when you load:
    Code:
    On Error Resume Next
    Load Shape1(s1)
    On Error Goto 0
    Nothing else needs to change.

  20. #20
    PowerPoster RhinoBull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    New Amsterdam
    Posts
    24,135

    Re: array object limit?

    @Ellis: it's often necessary to delete some member of control array which isn't necessary the last one.
    So, using check for existance (could also be done in the loop) using TypeName function may let you "fill the blanks".
    It is also much better way to handle control array than "Resume Next" or "GoTo 0".

  21. #21
    PowerPoster Ellis Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,527

    Re: array object limit?

    Quote Originally Posted by RhinoBull
    @Ellis: it's often necessary to delete some member of control array which isn't necessary the last one.
    So, using check for existance (could also be done in the loop) using TypeName function may let you "fill the blanks".
    It is also much better way to handle control array than "On Error ...".
    I honestly don't see how. Could you give an example?

    EDIT: I created a textbox control array with three textboxes: 0, 1, 3. My debug results:

    ?TypeName(Text1)
    Object
    ?TypeName(Text1(0))
    TextBox
    ?TypeName(Text1(1))
    TextBox
    ?TypeName(Text1(2))
    TextBox
    ?TypeName(Text1(3))
    TextBox
    ?TypeName(Text1(4))
    TextBox

    It's telling me textbox regardless of whether that index references a member of the control array or not.

    I'm confused.
    Last edited by Ellis Dee; Sep 5th, 2007 at 01:45 PM.

  22. #22

  23. #23
    PowerPoster Ellis Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,527

    Re: array object limit?

    We do have something further to discuss because I don't understand how the linked method works and would like you to explain.

  24. #24
    PowerPoster RhinoBull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    New Amsterdam
    Posts
    24,135

    Re: array object limit?

    Alright...

    Randy's sample demonstrates how to determine whether or not control with say name Text1 is part of control array.
    To determine whether or not particular control is a member of that array sample needs to be expanded a bit:
    Code:
    '--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    'To run this sample do the following first:
    ' - add a textbox to your form
    ' - copy the new textbox and paste it onto the same form
    ' - when asked if "you want to create control array?" click YES
    ' - repeat this a few times so you create 4-5 instances of a textbox
    ' - delete at least one instance with index = 2 (basically any textbox but NOT first or last)
    ' - when ready copy/paste this code (and the function above) into the form, and run it
    '--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Option Explicit
    
    Public Function ControlExists(Name As String, Index As Integer) As Boolean
    Dim ctl As Control
    Dim blnExist As Boolean
    
        blnExist = False
        
        For Each ctl In Me.Controls
            'determine if it's a control array
            If ctl.Name = Name And TypeName(Me.Controls(Name)) = "Object" Then
                'it is so try to find match on index
                If ctl.Index = Index Then
                    'match found - exit
                    blnExist = True
                    Exit For
                End If
            End If
        Next ctl
        
        ControlExists = blnExist
    
    End Function
    
    'sample usage:
    Private Sub Command1_Click()
    Dim i As Integer
    
        'find and create missing members (it should be 1 and 3 in this example)
        For i = Text1.LBound To Text1.UBound
            If Not ControlExists("Text1", i) Then
                Debug.Print "Text(" & i & ") does not exist."
                Load Text1(i)
                Text1(i).Move Text1(i - 1).Left, Text1(i - 1).Top + Text1(i - 1).Height + 120
                Text1(i).Text = "Text1(" & i & ")"
                Text1(i).Visible = True
            End If
        Next i
    
    End Sub
    All you had to do was improvise a little.

  25. #25
    PowerPoster Ellis Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,527

    Re: array object limit?

    Very clever. I can't test that right now, but it looks like it should work nicely. Thanks much.

  26. #26

  27. #27

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    528

    Re: array object limit?

    i was having trouble the way i was doing it which was moving the shapes up the form
    so i changed the program to the way which rhinobull suggested (yes i know, you were right, i'm sorry) which was to move the shapes in a picturebox, but now while they're moving up, if i drag the form then it totally messes up.
    the program records what time you press the keys at when it's "recording" then when it's "playing" it simulates someone pressing teh keys by running the same code as the keydown event at the times recorded
    it only messes up when playing when i drag it but i have copied EXACTLY the same code from the keydown and key up events into the player except for the recording parts so i don't knowwhy it's doing this to me


    heres my code:

    Code:
    in the keydown event of the player:
    ReDim Preserve square1(0 To (UBound(square1) + 1)) As Shape
    Set square1(UBound(square1)) = Me.Controls.Add("VB.Shape", "square1" & (UBound(square1)))
                Set square1(UBound(square1)).Container = Picture1
    With square1(UBound(square1))
                
                .Top = 2520
                .Height = 15
                .Left = 3270
                .Width = 435
                .Tag = 1
                .Visible = True
                .BackColor = &HFFFF00
                .BackStyle = 1
                End With
    
    in the key up event of the player:
    
    square1(UBound(square1)).Tag = 0
    
    in a timer:
    
    For i = 0 To UBound(square1)
    If square1(i).Top > -100 - square1(i).Height Then square1(i).Top = square1(i).Top - 100
    If square1(i).Tag = "1" Then If 2520 - square1(i).Top > 0 Then square1(i).Height = 2520 - square1(i).Top
    Next i

    the shapes still move upwards after i have dragged it so i don't think it's the timer
    but no new shapes are made after that so hmm...

    EDIT:
    ok now it's getting very sensitive, when my screensaver comes on, it messes it up. also someone just signed in on msn and that little box thing popped up saying blahblah has just signed in and THAT MESSED IT UP! i mean OMG what the hell!!!!!????
    Last edited by killo; Sep 10th, 2007 at 11:05 AM.

  28. #28

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    528

    Re: array object limit?

    i figured it out now, when people sign in to msn etc it uses the cpu and the shapes get out of sync, also when theres lots of shapes on there it goes really jumpy and uses like 99% of cpu or something, theres only around 20 shapes on the screen and my computer is quite fast. i don't know how my computer can display counter strike as fast as it does when it can't move a few stupid shapes across the screen!
    is there any faster way to do this?

  29. #29
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,784

    Re: array object limit?

    That's because when you use shapes, the computer re-draws the screen every time you move/draw each shape instead once at the end.

    What I mean is: lets say you moved 3 shapes, the order of things go like this:

    draw/move shape 1
    re-draw the form
    draw/move shape 2
    re-draw the form
    draw/move shape 3
    re-draw the form

    A program like counter strike uses an internal buffer for drawing, and thigs go like this:
    draw/move shape 1
    draw/move shape 2
    draw/move shape 3
    re-draw the form from buffer

    You could do the same, if and only if you draw on a picture box directly on the screen, or you simulate the buffer by drawing in a picture box that has the AutoRedraw property set to True, and you hide the picture, and show it (or copy the contents to another picture) only when everything is moved/drawn...

    There is also another way... something like this:
    http://www.vbforums.com/showthread.php?t=451051
    or this
    http://www.vbforums.com/showthread.php?t=451033
    Where it uses a byte array buffer to draw, and when done, just copy the data in a picture box

    Using shapes is the slowest thing you can do of ALL options...

    PS: I warned you about this in post #10...
    Last edited by CVMichael; Sep 11th, 2007 at 07:50 AM.

  30. #30

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    528

    Re: array object limit?

    okay i made the picturebox.visible = false at the start of my timers code then made him visible = true again at the end of the timer code because it contains those for loops to move the shapes upwards in the sky. but vb6 still eats my cpu and even when i compile my project and run the exe then it still spends too much of his cpu allowance on stupid things like for loops and stuff but doesn't leave himself enough to spend on the more important things like showing me the shapes, keeping in sync and genrally keeping his integrity. meanwhile C++ is still grounded from the incident last week. O rLY? yaRLY no it's true.
    thankyou
    yes you warned me and, but i still done it the way you said so it's- not like i didn't do it how you said and thats it's not working and it is not flickering so it's ok
    Last edited by killo; Sep 11th, 2007 at 03:12 PM.

  31. #31
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,784

    Re: array object limit?

    Maybe you should post your entire project, and let us take a look. I'm sure we can speed it up...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width