[RESOLVED] Format C:/ In Cmd.exe-VBForums
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: [RESOLVED] Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    43

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    i am wanting to format my C drive on my laptop in command.exe when i boot it up in safe mode as windows doesnt allow me into it because of a virus. i was wondering if anyone knew

    many thanks

  2. #2
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    734

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    You will not be able to boot into windows and format the drive that windows is currently on. However, if all you want to do is format the C:/ and reinstall over it the Windows Setup will take care of that for you.


    "X-mas is 24.Desember you English morons.." - NoteMe

  3. #3
    KrisSiegel.com Kasracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA, Maryland
    Posts
    4,983

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    Boot from the Windows install disc and log into the recovery console. You can then use your command if you must but dsheller's suggestion is best.
    KrisSiegel.com - My Personal Website with my blog and portfolio
    Don't Forget to Rate Posts!

    Free Icons: FamFamFam, VBCorner, VBAccelerator
    Useful Links: System.Security.SecureString Managed DPAPI Overview Part 1 Managed DPAPI Overview Part 2 MSDN, MSDN2, Comparing the Timer Classes

  4. #4
    PowerPoster eranga262154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,201

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    Quote Originally Posted by dsheller
    if all you want to do is format the C:/ and reinstall over it the Windows Setup will take care of that for you.
    This is the easy as well as most safe way to come up with.

    By the way which type of virus attack you have on laptop. There is one from Win32.dll which is not allow to format a single drive. You have to deleted all the partition. I come accross with this effect few months back.
    “victory breeds hatred, the defeated live in pain; happily the peaceful live giving up victory and defeat” - Gautama Buddha

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,088

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    Yes, just like being suggested is the best ways to do it.

    You can not format the system partition while windows is running, even in safe mode. Dont really see a valid purpose for that.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Star Wars Gangsta Rap Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel Core 2 Extreme Ed., 2 WD Raptor 10K RPM 300 GB HDs, 2 GBs DDR2 667 MHz RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 7 SP-1/Windows 8.1, Office 2010, VS 2013

  6. #6
    PowerPoster eranga262154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,201

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    Unless you don't have dual OS.
    “victory breeds hatred, the defeated live in pain; happily the peaceful live giving up victory and defeat” - Gautama Buddha

  7. #7
    Fanatic Member eSPiYa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    in our house
    Posts
    753

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    Create a bootable disk then boot from it then format your drive.
    This should answer your problem but another problem will arise.

    How to install "Windows from command prompt/DOS?".

  8. #8
    PowerPoster eranga262154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,201

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    Quote Originally Posted by eSPiYa
    How to install "Windows from command prompt/DOS?".
    Do you mean install on top of the Windows.
    “victory breeds hatred, the defeated live in pain; happily the peaceful live giving up victory and defeat” - Gautama Buddha

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,088

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    If you boot up to the Windows CD you will get the option of deleting the partition and then creating a new one. Then when you format it do a complete format (slow one not the quick one) and you should be ok.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Star Wars Gangsta Rap Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel Core 2 Extreme Ed., 2 WD Raptor 10K RPM 300 GB HDs, 2 GBs DDR2 667 MHz RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 7 SP-1/Windows 8.1, Office 2010, VS 2013

  10. #10
    Bahamas Mon
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Nassau, Bahamas
    Posts
    2,989

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    if you have another PC, plug the hard drive you want to format into that, and format it from within windows ..

    though its just as easy just to create bootable CD to do it.

  11. #11
    PowerPoster eranga262154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,201

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDog888
    a complete format
    Ya, it is better.

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDog888
    slow one not the quick one
    Any specail thing to do this. What's happened if I used quick one on a complete format.
    “victory breeds hatred, the defeated live in pain; happily the peaceful live giving up victory and defeat” - Gautama Buddha

  12. #12
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,088

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    A quick format only resets the mfat while leaving the files orphaned on the drive. Then with a full format it will reset the mfat and actually format the drive erasing/destroying all the files.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Star Wars Gangsta Rap Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel Core 2 Extreme Ed., 2 WD Raptor 10K RPM 300 GB HDs, 2 GBs DDR2 667 MHz RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 7 SP-1/Windows 8.1, Office 2010, VS 2013

  13. #13
    PowerPoster eranga262154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,201

    Re: Format C:/ In Cmd.exe

    Thanks, got the point
    “victory breeds hatred, the defeated live in pain; happily the peaceful live giving up victory and defeat” - Gautama Buddha

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.