Make voice chat by LAN-VBForums
Results 1 to 31 of 31

Thread: Make voice chat by LAN

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Make voice chat by LAN

    Hello
    I made chat program working by LAN (IP), and I use Microsoft Winsock Control.
    Can I make voice chat (from Mics) by using LAN (IP) Microsoft Winsock Control? and how?

    Thanks
    Last edited by onh1986; Nov 17th, 2006 at 06:59 AM.

  2. #2
    "Digital Revolution"
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4,471

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    I would look into using the WaveStream class.

    Here's a voice chat example.

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    I want open voice chat just like NetMeeting, Yahoo Messenger, MSN Messenger, ...

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    I need help please

  5. #5
    "Digital Revolution"
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4,471

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    Then you will need to use an array of Winsock controls. You will also need a voice server of some sort, so everyone can hear everyone.

    But you should still be able to use the code I linked to. You'll just have to set it up a little differently.

  6. #6
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    This might help:
    VB6 - Shoutcast Server using Blade Encoder

    You can modify it for voice chat, and it accepts multiple clients too

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    Quote Originally Posted by CVMichael
    This might help:
    VB6 - Shoutcast Server using Blade Encoder

    You can modify it for voice chat, and it accepts multiple clients too
    I saw it and I watched 2 circles.
    What does this program do exactly?

  8. #8
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    If you follow the instructions you can set up a SHOUTcast server (Your own radio station), like this for example:

    http://www.shoutcast.com/

    But it won't be listed there of course.

    You can play music on your computer, the program will record the music you are playing, and send it as a streamed MP3 to the user connected to your computer using winsock. The user connected to your comptuer, can use WinAmp (http://www.winamp.com ) to listen to your radio station.

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    Quote Originally Posted by CVMichael
    This might help:
    VB6 - Shoutcast Server using Blade Encoder

    You can modify it for voice chat, and it accepts multiple clients too
    I tried it but it didn't work, it couldn't find clients, why?

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    I need help please

  11. #11
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    OK...

    What do you mean by "it couldn't find clients" ?

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    The other computer didn't receive the sound.

  13. #13
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    Did you use winamp to connect to the server ?

    Is the firewall allowing the port to go through ?

  14. #14

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    I can connect to another computer by LAN (IP), nevertheless the example you gave to me didn't work.
    I don't use firewall.

  15. #15
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    In order to solve any problem, you need to know WHAT is the problem !

    If you don't tell me what exactly does not work, i won't be able to help you.

    Obviously you are doing something wrong, because I tested it and it works, and no one else beside you said that it does not work...

    So, try to tell me what does not work, or I won't be able to help you

    Did you try (just for testing) to connect from the same computer ? that should work for sure, and if it does not, then it means that you did not folow the instructions I gave in that thread

  16. #16

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    I connect to another computer by LAN (IP Address)
    I launched the example you gave to me then I've spoken but the another computer didn't hear me.

  17. #17
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    OK, in the picture attached, do you have "Clients connected: 1" ??

    Also, are the 2 circles moving by the sound ?

    If you DO have "Clients connected: 1" then it meas that the client DID connect, and all you need is to play some music (or microphone) on the server side.

    If you ARE playing music (or talk in microphone), and the bars are not moving, then it means that you did not choose the propper input device for recording.
    That is done in Windows... from "Master Volume" you choose Options -> Properties -> Recording, make sure you have ALL the checkmarks, then choose the "Wave" as input device if you play music, or choose "Microphone" if you talk in the microphone.
    If the bars start to move in my program, then it means that the sound reaches the program, and it's recording properly...
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  18. #18

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    I see 2 circle but they have the same shape.
    Clients connected is 0.

  19. #19
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    Quote Originally Posted by onh1986
    I see 2 circle but they have the same shape.
    Clients connected is 0.
    OK, did you try anything that I have said ?

  20. #20

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    I did.
    I saw 2 circles but the clients conntected is 0, so there's a problem in connecting.

  21. #21
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    What did you do to try to connect ?
    How did you try to connect ?

  22. #22

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    I want to connect to another computer by LAN (IP Addresses)
    There're 2 computers:
    IP1- 192.168.0.1
    IP2- 192.168.0.2

  23. #23
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    You did not anser my question

  24. #24

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    I didn't edit anything in the code.
    Both computers have launched the program "ShoutcastServer.exe" and clicked on the "Record" button.
    And Clients Connected is still "0".

    P.S: I can connect to another program by other programs and I can browse its files, so the connection is working.

  25. #25
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    Well, at least now I know what the problem is...

    I'm gonna do this step by step, so we will have LOTS of posts, but it seems that is the only way with you...

    Next question:
    Do you know what Winamp is ?

    If you don't know, this is their web-site: http://www.winamp.com/

    Now, let me put this simple:

    First, lets connect ON THE SAME COMPUTER

    Turn on the ShoutcastServer, then you will see in the ZIP file with the project an HTML file, double click that HTML file
    When the is opened in your internet browser, click on the BIG LINK
    Winamp should open, and it should connect to the server

    If you look at the server, you should see "Clients connect: 1"

    Now PLEASE tell me that you did it, and that it worked !

  26. #26
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    I'm leaving work, so I won't be able to reply to you in the next few hours.

    Do what I said in the previous post.

    Just remember that the program DOES NOT RECEIVE THE SOUND.... it only records and then it sends the sound to the WinAmp program when it connects.

    So you problem is that you turned on the server on both computers, but there was nothing to read the sound... you do that with WinAmp...

    ShoutcastServer is the program that is recording, and sending the sound
    WinAmp is the client program that plays the sound.

    The sound will go ONE WAY, if you want it 2 way, then you have to start the server at both comptuers (the way you did before), AND ALSO start on BOTH comptuers WinAmp. And each WinAmp should connect to the other computer.

    You have to understand my instructions, otherwise it will not work !

    Frankly, I have no idea why it's taking you so long to understand how it works, when it is so simple !

  27. #27

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    It's working now but I need a program sends and receives sounds just like "NetMeeting".

  28. #28
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    Posts
    5,726

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    As I was saying in the first post that I posted, you can modify my program to work like that, but keeping in mind how long it took you to just start the program, I really doubt that you can modify it...

  29. #29

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    How can I modify it?
    Can you just tell me what the main steps is to do it?

  30. #30

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    157

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    Please someone tell me the main steps to modify it.

  31. #31
    Super Moderator si_the_geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    37,152

    Re: Make voice chat by LAN

    First of all you will need to work out exactly how the program works at the moment (which from what I've read, you aren't clear on at all).

    Once you have fully understood it, you need to work out what parts need to change.. then find out the possible methods for doing what you want, followed by choosing the methods you will use, and then implementing them.

    It's a fair amount of work, and I'm afraid you cannot expect anyone to do it for you - you need to be able to do most of it on your own. We volunteer our time to help people who are stuck, not to guide them thru every step of the process of creating a working program.

    If you are finding it all too much (rather than just a few specific parts you need help with), it would be wise to leave it for a while, and come back to it when you have more programming experience.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.