Thread: vb2005 EE or full?

vb2005 EE or full?

When I started learning .net I assumed that the latest versions of .net ie 2005, would support any programs written in the older versions, but nearly everytime I get a sample from pscode its usualy always not in 2005, it never works in my 2005 EE

My question is, is the EE causing this, or is it just because MS didnt implement the backwards compatibily properly. Meaning, will most programs work with the 2005 full version, or will it just produce the same result of my EE.

BTW its not anything super complicated that I've been using, as I know obviously 2005 has additional features that the others wont support.

In short, will it make any difference if I buy the full version, the problem is its pretty expensive.
    Chris

Re: vb2005 EE or full?

Quote Originally Posted by the182guy
    When I started learning .net I assumed that the latest versions of .net ie 2005, would support any programs written in the older versions, but nearly everytime I get a sample from pscode its usualy always not in 2005, it never works in my 2005 EE
    So what kind of code is it in? VB6 or before? .NET 2003? Trying to use VB6 with .NET is like trying to fit a square object into a round hole, it's not your version, it's the fact that they are not compatible.
    Show the love! Click (rate this post) under my name if I was helpful.

My CodeBank Submissions: How to create a User Control | Move a form between Multiple Monitors (Screens) | Remove the MDI Client Border | Using Report Viewer with Visual Studio 2012 Express

nonononono haha yes i know, its .net 02 and 03 examples that I test in my vb2005 EE
    Chris

2005 will automatically upgrade/convert 2003 projects. Now if the author used 3rd party controls/components then that can cause a problem. PSC is not a good place to get quality code. Perhaps the contest winners projects but the others are mostly all of a greater lesser quality.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)