Thread: [RESOLVED] Using BitBlt in VB.NET?

Resolved [RESOLVED] Using BitBlt in VB.NET?

Hi all,

I'm new to bitblt, i have worked on a vb6 project with a partner who used it before, but after trying to apply the methods to vb.net i discovered that vb.net doesn't allow you to blt an image which isn't visible on the screen! in vb6 an invisible picturebox used to do the trick.

I have found some answers from googling, involving methods such as CreateCompatibleDC, SelectObject and others.. but these answers are not well explained and i'm a bit lost as to how to get it to work.

Bsically all i need is an explanation of how to use a .net bitmap or image object and draw it using bitblt. I am wanting to use bitblt to get some better performance then the frameworks functions will provide, but without going all the way to directx.

If anyone has tackled this problem before any help is appreciated, thanks.

Re: Using BitBlt in VB.NET?

The .NET functions wrap most of the API functions anyway. Functions, for example, DrawEllipse:
    PHP Code:
    Graphics g this.CreateGraphics();
    g.DrawEllipse(Pens.Blue005050); 
    ..use the DrawEllipse API. Almost all graphics functions make use of the API, so I would suggest learning those. Of course, not all things use the API, so people do often go back to using the API's in .NET. Not sure how to do it in VB.NET, but it can't be much different than it already is. In C# its alot different, but yeah...google is your friend (search the forums too )

chem

Visual Studio 6, Visual Studio.NET 2005, MASM

Thanks chem,

I am quite familiar with gdi+ provided within the framework, you can do great effects with it, however this is a personal project a friend and myself are doing which is a small game, unfortunetly the graphics class methods are too slow to make even a fairly tame game run anywhere near 30fps.