dcsimg
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [RESOLVED] calling dll sub from rundll32?

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member TDQWERTY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Oporto & Leiria, Portugal / Luanda, Angola
    Posts
    972

    Resolved [RESOLVED] calling dll sub from rundll32?

    Is it possible to call a dll sub from ms-dos?
    Like using rundll32.exe?
    ::Winamp 5.xx id3v2 & modern skin support::
    ::NetCF DataGrid Programatically Scroll Example::
    Don't forget to rate posts from those who helped you solving your problem, clicking on and rating it.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8

    Smile Re: calling dll sub from rundll32?

    Yes ,too easy
    for example, I want to call function "ImageView_Fullscreen" from shimgvw.dll (as u know it opens Windows Picture and Fox viewer)
    type in the command line:
    rundll32.exe E:\WINDOWS\system32\shimgvw.dll,ImageView_Fullscreen
    or
    rundll32.exe E:\WINDOWS\system32\shimgvw.dll,ImageView_Fullscreen [filename to view]

    as u see the calling is so:
    rundll32.exe [dll path] [Function name] [command line arquments(if needed)]

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member TDQWERTY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Oporto & Leiria, Portugal / Luanda, Angola
    Posts
    972

    Re: calling dll sub from rundll32?

    ermm a stupid question, is that possible to do with vb dlls?
    Your reply is about a Microsoft Windows C++ dll...i can see the functions names with dependencies walker..the same doesn't happen for vb dlls, am i wrong?
    ::Winamp 5.xx id3v2 & modern skin support::
    ::NetCF DataGrid Programatically Scroll Example::
    Don't forget to rate posts from those who helped you solving your problem, clicking on and rating it.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: calling dll sub from rundll32?

    No , this is not possible.
    because as I know vb6 cannot make standard dlls just it can make some kind of it like Activex dll ...
    but the standard dll which can be called by rundll32 or can be loaded into a vb app is the one which u can see the functions in dependencies walker and it is created by visual c++.
    or sth like that.
    if u think not so , please let me know but I'm 99% sure

  5. #5

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member TDQWERTY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Oporto & Leiria, Portugal / Luanda, Angola
    Posts
    972

    Re: calling dll sub from rundll32?

    yes, perfectly
    Each day that passes i find more and more this kind of limitations...maybe would be a good idea to move on to C :/

    thanks for your answers
    ::Winamp 5.xx id3v2 & modern skin support::
    ::NetCF DataGrid Programatically Scroll Example::
    Don't forget to rate posts from those who helped you solving your problem, clicking on and rating it.

  7. #7
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    193

    Re: [RESOLVED] calling dll sub from rundll32?

    Rhino,

    It is not that clear to me.. I am using VB6, and was hoping to be able to run an Activex DLL from the command line.. Are you saying this isn't possible????
    Sorry to bring up old news
    Thanks

  8. #8
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    East of NYC, USA
    Posts
    5,692

    Re: [RESOLVED] calling dll sub from rundll32?

    Debbie, write a program that takes the command line argument and passes it to the ActiveX dll. Then run the program from the command line, giving it the argument you want to pass to the dll.
    The most difficult part of developing a program is understanding the problem.
    The second most difficult part is deciding how you're going to solve the problem.
    Actually writing the program (translating your solution into some computer language) is the easiest part.

    Please indent your code and use [HIGHLIGHT="VB"] [/HIGHLIGHT] tags around it to make it easier to read.

    Please Help Us To Save Ana

  9. #9
    PowerPoster RhinoBull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    New Amsterdam
    Posts
    24,135

    Re: [RESOLVED] calling dll sub from rundll32?

    Quote Originally Posted by DebbieInFlorida
    ... I ... was hoping to be able to run an Activex DLL from the command line.. Are you saying this isn't possible???? ...
    DLLs are not "standard" EXEs so they cannot run "on their own" if you will.
    You may interface dll by calling its function directly if it's a standard dll or by referencing it if it's an activex dll. But you cannot run it directly like windows executable.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width