dcsimg

Thread: Runtime Error '5' for VB6

Runtime Error '5' for VB6

Hi all,

Noob here. I have noticed that on some older sytems where I run my VB6 created executables, it gives me this "Runtime Error '5': Invalid Procedure Call or Argument". This doesn't seem to be a problem on WinXP, but on some Win2000 systems I receive this. I have also run all the recent VB6 service packs.

Anybody have any suggestions or hints?

Thanks.

Re: Runtime Error '5' for VB6

Welcome to the forums.

Without knowing the line of code causing the error, everything will be pure speculation.

Do you have a Win2000 machine available for your use on which you can load VB6, and run your program from the IDE to see if you can recreate the problem?
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    When you have received an answer to your question, please mark it as resolved using the Thread Tools menu.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    I dont answer coding questions via PM or EMail. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.

Creating A Wizard In VB.NET
    Paging A Recordset
    What is wrong with using On Error Resume Next
    Good Article: Language Enhancements In Visual Basic 2010
    Upgrading VB6 Code To VB.NET
    Microsoft MVP 2005/2006/2007/2008/2009/2010/2011/2012/Defrocked

Ah, that's true, without knowing which line of code, it is pretty much pure speculation.

Well the development environment for VB6 is actually on a Win2000 system as well, and unfortunately there I cannot recreate the error. I suspect that because I have VB6 installed on the development system, it must have some dlls or whatever else installed that allows for my created program to run perfectly.